Jamila Ponton Bragg and Cynthia L. Dorsey Named Prince Fellows | Playbill

Industry News Jamila Ponton Bragg and Cynthia L. Dorsey Named Prince Fellows

Founded by late producer-director Harold Prince, the program supports and empowers new creative producers.

Jamila Ponton Bragg and Cynthia L. Dorsey

Jamila Ponton Bragg and Cynthia L. Dorsey have been named this year's Prince Fellows by The Prince Fellowship and Columbia University School of the Arts. Bragg and Dorsey will begin the program, founded by late Broadway producer and director Harold Prince to support and empower new creative producers, in September and continue through August, 2023.

Bragg is the founder of JamRock Productions, a female-centered production company, and worked in the non-profit industry for nearly 20 years. “Jamila brings an incredible level of experience in the non-profit field and a rich education with her as she transitions to commercial, creative producing,” said Prince Fellowship mentor David Stone in a statement. “Her background and incredible focus will be an amazing contribution to this community.”

Awarded the Prince/The Theatre Leadership Project Fellowship, Dorsey co-founded and serves as artistic director of SoulFLY Theatre Society. She was also nominated for an Excellence in Theatre Education Tony Award. "After a first successful year in partnership with the Prince Fellowship, The Theatre Leadership Project is thrilled to be welcoming Cynthia L. Dorsey to our growing creative producing program,” said Leah Harris, the organization's program manager. “Cynthia is a multi-hyphenate artist who brings vibrant energy and a depth of knowledge and experience to the field of producing."

As fellows, Bragg and Dorsey will receive a stipend, along with a budget to develop a new theatrical production. They will be able to take courses in Columbia’s MFA Theatre Management and Producing Program, will receive mentorship from industry producers and professionals.

Serving as mentors are Kristin Caskey, Sue Frost, Tom Schumacher, Jeffrey Seller, and David Stone. Support will also come from an advisory group of additional industry professionals that includes Victoria Bailey, Christopher Burney, Lisa Dawn Cave, Nina Essman, Kamilah Forbes, Robert Fried, Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, Brian Moreland, Julio Peterson, Lisa Poyer, Natasha Sinha, Donna Walker-Kuhne, Schele Williams, and Kumiko Yoshii.

Managed by co-directors Orin Wolf, Steven Chaikelson, and Aaron Glick, the program began in 2005. Support for The Prince Fellowship is also provided by The John Gore Organization, while the Prince/TTLP Fellow is funded through a partnership with The Theatre Leadership Project. TTLP is a nonprofit dedicated to installing Black leadership in commercial theatre.

For more information, visit PrinceFellowship.com.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!