Broadway's Mr. Saturday Night to Release Cast Album; Get a First Listen | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Broadway's Mr. Saturday Night to Release Cast Album; Get a First Listen

Based on the film, the musical stars 2022 Tony nominees Billy Crystal and Shoshana Bean plus Randy Graff, David Paymer, and more.

Broadway's Mr. Saturday Night, with a score by Jason Robert Brown and Amanda Green, will release an original cast album via Craft Recordings and Concord Theatricals June 10. Take a look—and listen—at the cast, including current Tony nominees Billy Crystal and Shoshana Bean, recording the album above.

Based on the 1992 film directed, starring, and co-written by Crystal, Mr. Saturday Night follows Borscht Belt comedian Buddy Young Jr., looking to revive his career and repair his familial relationships. Along with Crystal and Bean, the production stars Tony winner Randy Graff (City of Angels, Les Misérables) as Buddy’s wife, Elaine Young; Oscar nominee David Paymer returning to his film role of Stan Yankelman, Buddy’s brother; and Chasten Harmon as his agent, Annie Wells. Rounding out the ensemble are Jordan Gelber, Brian Gonzales, and Mylinda Hull.

The project reunites Crystal with the film’s original co-authors, Lowell Ganz and Babaloo Mandel, who have adapted their original screenplay with Crystal, with a score by composer Brown and lyricist Green. Tony winner John Rando (Urinetown, On the Town) directs with music direction by David O and choreography by Ellenore Scott.

The production, currently running at Broadway's Nederlander Theatre, received five 2022 Tony nominations, including Best Musical, Book (Crystal, Ganz, and Mandel), Score (Brown and Green), Leading Actor in a Musical (Crystal), and Featured Actress in a Musical (Bean). See the full list of nominees here.

Mr. Saturday Night features scenic design by Scott Pask, costume design by Paul Tazewell and Sky Switser, lighting design by Kenneth Posner, video and projection design by Jeff Sugg, sound design by Kai Harada, and hair and wig design by Charles LaPointe. The production stage manager is Tripp Phillips. Orchestrations and arrangements are by Brown.

The Broadway cast album is produced by Jeffrey Lesser and Brown, co-produced by Sean Patrick Flahaven, and associate produced by Green.

Take a look at the full track listing:
1. "We’re Live"
2. "A Little Joy"
3. "There’s a Chance"
4. "I Still Got It"
5. "At Farber’s"
6. "Buddy’s First Act"
7. "Until Now"
8. "Timing"
9. "What If I Said?"
10. "Unbelievable"
11. "What’s Playing at the Movies"
12. "Maybe It Starts With Me"
13. "Tahiti"
14. "My Wonderful Pain in the Ass"
15. "Broken"
16. "Any Man But Me"
17. "Stick Around

Check Out Production Photos of Broadway's Mr. Saturday Night Starring Billy Crystal


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!