Kicking Off October 16, Ensemble Studio Theatre Begins 38th Marathon of One-Act Plays | Playbill

Off-Broadway News Kicking Off October 16, Ensemble Studio Theatre Begins 38th Marathon of One-Act Plays

Mike Lew and Colette Robert curated the festival which features entirely BIPOC artists.

Mike Lew and Colette Robert

Ensemble Studio Theatre presents its 38th Marathon of One-Act Plays beginning October 16. Curated by Co-Artistic Directors Mike Lew (Teenage Dick) and Colette Robert (Behind the Sheet), the festival of 11 plays, celebrating the work of BIPOC artists runs through November 13. 

The marathon is presented in two series of five plays each on Ensemble Studio Theatre's Mainstage. 

Series A features Harron Atkins' Still..., Vivian J.O. Barnes' Intro To, Dominic Colón's Prospect Avenue or The Miseducation of Juni Rodriguez, Cusi Cram's Los Complicados, and Shannon Tyo's Younger Battles the Possible Ghost. Starring in the productions are Catalina Chang, Brenda Crawley, José Espinosa, Daniela Gonzalez y Perez, Ethan Joseph, Denise Manning, Marcus Naylor, Ashley Marie Ortiz (amo), Roudlerson Calvin Pierre, Cristina Pitter, Justin Rodriguez, Deandre Sevon, Mark Vaughn, Ed Ventura, Eric R. Williams, Jo Yang, and the voice of William Jackson Harper.

Works presented in Series B include Bleu Beckford-Burrell's Tr@k Grls (pt1), Yussef El Guindi's Brass Knuckles, Keiko Green's Prepared, Goldie E. Patrick's Breath of Life: A choreoplay of Black Love, and a.k. payne's blooms. The company of actors for Series B is comprised of Biko, Ashley Bufkin, David Cork, Sydney Lolita Cusic, Will Dagger, Alisha Espinosa, Fernando Gonzalez, Sarah Nina Hayon, Kai Heath, Kendyl Ito, Margaret Odette, and Monique Robinson.

The festival's 11th play, Yan Tután, will be streamed in collaboration with Perseverance Theatre October 23-November 13. The cast stars Chloey Kiawk Shaa Cavanaugh, Davina Cole, Ernestine Hayes, Jared Olin, Alfie "Shiggoap" Price, Jamiann S'eiltin, Andrew Tripp, and Xáalnook Erin Tripp.

Directors Sivan Battat, Dominic Colón, nicHi Douglas, Chika Ike, Cameron Knight, Rebecca Martinez, Jonathan McCrory, Jess McLeod, Keenan Tyler Oliphant, Erin Tripp, and Elizabeth Van Dyke have all joined this year's productions.

This year's marathon is entirely by BIPOC artists—from playwrights and directors to designers and technicians. The biennial festival began in 1977, and has featured works by Horton Foote, Romulus Linney, Christopher Durang, Richard Greenberg, Aaron Sorkin, Julia Cho, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Amy Herzog, Qui Nguyen, Taylor Mac, and more. In 2015, Martyna Majok presented her play Cost of Living, which went on to win the 2018 Pulitzer Prize. The work began its debut Broadway run September 13 at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre.

For more information, visit


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!