Broadway Alum Elizabeth Ward Land to Release Album of Linda Ronstadt Songs | Playbill

Readings and Workshops Broadway Alum Elizabeth Ward Land to Release Album of Linda Ronstadt Songs

Soon to be seen in Off-Broadway's The Bedwetter, Land's Still Within the Sound of My Voice releases next month.

Elizabeth Ward Land Justin Patterson

Broadway alum Elizabeth Ward Land, soon to be seen in the world premiere Sarah Silverman musical The Bedwetter Off-Broadway, will release an album of songs made famous by Linda RonstadtStill Within the Sound of My Voice: The Songs of Linda Ronstadt will release from LML Music on CD and digital and streaming platforms July 15, with a special vinyl edition set to release later this year.

Inspired by Land's 2020 Bistro Award-winning tribute concert directed by Alan Muraoka, the album will feature arrangements by Andrew David Sotomayor and vocal arrangements by Joel Waggoner. Songs covered include "Heat Wave," "You're No Good," "Falling in Love Again," and more.

"I wanted to tell the stories of my life using the music of one of my favorite singers," shares Ward. "When I first began exploring this project, trying to decide which singer to choose, I thought about all the genres of music I loved to sing: rock and roll, country, folk, Broadway, the Great American Songbook. Then I listed the singers that I loved that shined in each category. The one vocalist that kept showing up in every single genre was Linda Ronstadt. As I explored her remarkable career and life, I realized how much we had in common. Then the show and its narrative began to unfold."

Ward is accompanied on the album by Sotomayor on piano, Kevin Kuhn on guitar, Jordan Jancz on bass and cello, Arei Sekiguchi on drums and percussion, Waggoner on violin and vocals, and Catherine Porter on vocals.

Still Within the Sound of My Voice is produced by Ken Land and Lee Lessack with Karen Mulvey and Andrew Needleman serving as executive producers.

Take a look at the full track list:
1. "Heat Wave"
2. "Different Drum"
3. "When Will I Be Loved / That’ll Be the Day / It’s So Easy / Just One Look / It’s in His Kiss"
4. "Heart Like a Wheel / Faithless Love"
5. "You’re No Good"
6. "Frenesí"
7. "Someone to Lay Down Beside Me"
8. "Blue Bayou"
9. "Falling in Love Again"
10. "Pain of Loving You / Somewhere Out There / All My Life / Don’t Know Much"
11. "Long Long Time"
12. "Still Within the Sound of My Voice"
13. "Desperado"


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!