2022 Jimmy Awards, Celebrating High School Musical Theatre Excellence, Presented June 27; Watch Live Here | Playbill

Awards 2022 Jimmy Awards, Celebrating High School Musical Theatre Excellence, Presented June 27; Watch Live Here

Kate Reinders hosts the in-person and live-streamed ceremony at Broadway’s Minskoff Theatre.

The 2022 Jimmy Awards, recognizing the best in high school musical theatre performers nationwide, are held at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre June 27 at 7:30 PM ET. The in-person ceremony will also stream live on Playbill. If the stream is not visible above, refresh this page.

Hosting the festivities, the first to be held in person since 2019, is Broadway vet and High School Musical: The Musical: The Series star Kate Reinders (Something Rotten!Gypsy). "I feel honored to be hosting the 2022 Jimmy Awards,” said Reinders in an earlier statement. “If the last few years playing Miss Jenn on HSMTMTS has taught me anything, it’s that nothing makes me feel more inspired and alive than being surrounded by extremely talented young people. I can’t wait!"

The Jimmy Awards ceremony is the annual culmination of more than 40 nationwide regional awards—representing more than 140,000 students at 1,800 high schools across 25 states—honoring the best in high school musical theatre, bringing regional winners together for a week of events, workshops, and master classes with industry professionals in New York City. The week culminates in a final ceremony on a Broadway stage, where nominees compete with performances to earn the top titles and college scholarships. The return to an in-person event follows an online event earlier this year and the cancellation of the 2020 ceremony.

On hand to coach this year's cohort of nominees are Desi Oakley, Max Chernin, Howard McGillin, Janet Dacal, Maryann Hu, Denis Jones, and Jacques Smith. Judging the final performances are Broadway performer Montego Glover, producer Alecia Parker, and casting directors Tara Rubin and Bernie Telsey, with Kristian Charbonier, Stephanie Klapper, Kevin Metzger-Timson, Dale Mott, and Seth Sklar-Heyn serving as preliminary judges prior to the ceremony.

Last year's Jimmy winners for Best Performance by an Actress and Actor, Elena Holder and Bryson Battle, respectively, will introduce the Inspiring Teacher Award, presented by Wells Fargo, to their respective theatre teachers Kristin Winchester and Ian Sullivan.

Past Jimmy Award winners include Andrew Barth Feldman and Renée Rapp, both of whom quickly moved on to Broadway careers. Feldman, most recently seen in Disney+'s High School Musical: The Musical: The Series, also starred on Broadway in the title role of Dear Evan Hansen, while Rapp was the final Regina George in Mean Girls on Broadway.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!