Ariana DeBose to Present Honors to Judith Light at GLAAD Awards | Playbill

Awards Ariana DeBose to Present Honors to Judith Light at GLAAD Awards

The ceremony will also feature Peppermint, Anthony Rapp, Cynthia Nixon, Amber Tamblyn, Wilson Cruz, and more.

Ariana De Bose and Judith Light

Tony and Emmy-winning actor, producer, and activist Judith Light will be honored with the Excellence in Media Award at the 33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards at New York City's Midtown Hilton May 6. Oscar winner Ariana DeBose, the first openly queer woman of color to win an Academy Award for acting, will present Light with the award.

Light won the Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Play in 2012 for Other Desert Cities and in 2013 for The Assembled Parties. In 2019, she was honored with the Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award for her work advocating for LGBTQIA+ rights and for her work fighting HIV/AIDS. The GLAAD Excellence in Media Award recognizes media professionals who have made a significant impact in promoting the acceptance of LGBTQ people.

Hosting the ceremony will be RuPaul's Drag Race alum and Broadway Head Over Heels star Peppermint with celebrity Peloton instructor Cody Rigsby. The event will also feature Amber Tamblyn, Anthony Rapp, Cynthia Nixon, Lily Rose, Nyle DiMarco, Wilson Cruz, and GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis.

Among the nominees for Outstanding Film at this year's GLAAD Awards are movie musicals tick, tick...BOOM! and West Side Story, with Chicken & BiscuitsCompany, and Thoughts of a Colored Man comprising the nominees for Outstanding Broadway Production.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!