Inside the 2019 24 Hour Plays Gala, Honoring Kathy Bates | Playbill

Benefits and Galas Inside the 2019 24 Hour Plays Gala, Honoring Kathy Bates The 19th annual event featured performances by Ana Villafañe, Pascale Armand, Sarah Snook, Justin Long, and more.
Cast Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The 19th annual 24 Hour Plays Broadway Gala was held November 18 at the Laura Pels Theatre at the Harold and Miriam Steinberg Center for Theatre. The benefit event, in which writers, directors, actors, and production staff create original works in less than 24 hours, honored Kathy Bates, with proceeds going in support of LE&RN—an organization fighting lymphedema and lymphatic disease.

As in the past, the 24 Hour Plays asked creative teams to come together for the first time at 10 PM the evening prior. Writers spent the night writing the 10-minute plays, and rehearsals began at 9 AM the morning of the gala.

This year's 24 Hour Plays featured brand-new short works penned by Jesse Eisenberg, Jonathan Marc Sherman, Robert O’Hara, Monique Moses, Lily Houghton, and Gracie Gardner, directed by Carolyn Cantor, Taylor Reynolds, Timothy Douglas, Theresa Rebeck, and Pippin Parker.

The company of performers was comprised of David Harbour, Patrick Wilson, Dagmara Domińczyk, Ana Villafañe, Dyllon Burnside, Katherine McNamara, Maura Tierney, Justin Long, Larry Owens, Julie Klausner, Robin De Jesus, Julie James, Pascale Armand, Justine Lupe, Evan Jonigkeit, Vella Lovell, Megalyn Echikunwoke, Genevieve Angelson, Francesca Ramsey, Sarah Snook, Olivia Washington, Erin Darke, Mat Fraser, Josh Hamilton, Brett Gelman, Kelly Aucoin, David Krumholtz and Joel Marsh Garland.

Flip through photos from the event below:

Inside the 2019 24 Hour Plays Gala, Honoring Kathy Bates

Benefits and Galas

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!