Broadway's Beetlejuice Cancels July 21 Performance | Playbill

Broadway News Broadway's Beetlejuice Cancels July 21 Performance

The show announced the cancellation via Twitter, and is expected to resume July 22.

David Josefsberg, Kerry Butler, Elizabeth Teeter, and Alex Brightman Matthew Murphy

Broadway's Beetlejuice has cancelled its July 21 performance due to limited COVID cases within the company. The announcement, made via Twitter, shares that the musical is scheduled to resume performances July 22.

The production has previously dealt with COVID cases within the company, including when Tony nominee Alex Brightman, starring as the title poltergeist, tested positive in May.

Ticketholders are advised to reach out to their point-of-purchase to refund or exchange their tickets for a future performance.

The show, based on Tim Burton’s cult favorite film, follows Lydia Deetz, a strange and unusual teenager grieving her deceased mother when she meets a recently deceased couple and Beetlejuice, a sneaky demon with a thing for stripes. When Lydia asks Beetlejuice to scare away anyone with a pulse, the double-crossing specter unleashes chaos and Lydia must find a way to put Beetlejuice back where he came from.

WATCH: Beetlejuice's Elizabeth Teeter Pour Out Lydia Deetz's Grief in "Dead Mom"

Alex Brightman and the cast of Beetlejuice Matthew Murphy

The cast also includes Kerry Butler, David Josefsberg, Adam Dannheisser, Leslie Rodriguez Kritzer, Kelvin Moon Loh, Danny Rutigliano, Dana Steingold, Michelle Aravena, Zonya Love, Kate Bailey, Will Blum, Ryan Breslin, Natalie Charle Ellis, Brooke Engen, Eric Anthony Johnson, Andrew Kober, Elliott Mattox, Mateo Melendez, Ramone Owens, Commodore C. Primous III, Nevada Riley, and Graham Stevens.

Alex Timbers directs the musical, which features an original score by Tony nominee Eddie Perfect, and a book by Tony nominees Scott Brown and Anthony King. Music supervision, orchestrations and incidental music are by Kris Kukul, and choreography is by Connor Gallagher.

READ: Elizabeth Teeter’s Déjà Vu Journey to the Netherworld

The creative team also includes scenic designer David Korins, costume designer William Ivey Long, lighting designer Kenneth Posner, sound designer Peter Hylenski, projection designer Peter Nigrini, puppet designer Michael Curry, special effects designer Jeremy Chernick, hair and wig designer Charles G. LaPointe, make-up designer Joe Dulude II, and physical movement coordinator Lorenzo Pisoni.

To tickets and more information, visit

Check Out New Photos of Broadway's Beetlejuice


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!