Judy Kuhn, Norm Lewis, Charlotte d’Amboise Set for Signature’s Stephen Sondheim Award Gala, Honoring John Kander | Playbill

Awards Judy Kuhn, Norm Lewis, Charlotte d’Amboise Set for Signature’s Stephen Sondheim Award Gala, Honoring John Kander The evening, benefiting Signature’s artistic, education, and community programs, will be held March 19.
Judy Kuhn Marc J. Franklin
Tony nominee Judy Kuhn (Les Misérables, Chess, Fun Home), Tony nominee Norm Lewis (Once On This Island, The Phantom of the Opera, Les Misérables), Tony nominee Charlotte d'Amboise (Chicago, Cats, A Chorus Line), and Lana Gordon (Chicago, The Lion King, Jesus Christ Superstar) will pay tribute to John Kander when Virginia's Signature Theatre honors the Tony-winning composer with the company’s ninth Stephen Sondheim Award.

Stephen Sondheim and John Kander
The Stephen Sondheim Award, as previously announced, will be presented at a gala at the Embassy of Italy March 19; the evening will benefit the Signature’s artistic, education, and community programs.

Also scheduled to perform are Signature’s own Will Gartshore (A Little Night Music), Katie Mariko Murray (West Side Story), Nova Y. Payton (Jelly's Last Jam), Tracy Lynn Olivera (A Little Night Music), and Stephen Gregory Smith (Titanic). Tony-winning choreographer-director Susan Stroman (The Producers, Contact, The Scottsboro Boys) will offer a special tribute.

“I'm thrilled that Signature is able to give the Stephen Sondheim Award to John Kander,” said Signature Theatre Artistic Director Eric Schaeffer in an earlier statement. “This marks the first time that we will be honoring a great American composer—one that both Sondheim and Signature greatly admire. We have had a long association with John through his work with the late great Fred Ebb as well as his newest writing partner—Greg Pierce. It will be an honor to salute his amazing career in March.”

Kander and the late Fred Ebb created Flora the Red Menace, Cabaret (Tony winner), Zorba, The Happy Time, 70 Girls 70, Chicago, The Act, Woman of the Year (Tony winner), The Rink, Kiss of the Spider Woman (Tony winner), Steel Pier, Curtains, The Scottsboro Boys, and The Visit.

The Tony-winning Signature Theatre inaugurated The Stephen Sondheim Award in 2009; the honor is given to an individual for “his or her career contributions to the American Musical Theatre along with interpreting, supporting, or collaborating on works by Sondheim.” In April 2010 the first award was given to Angela Lansbury. Subsequent recipients include Patti LuPone, Harold Prince, Bernadette Peters, Jonathan Tunick, James Lapine, John Weidman, and in 2017, Cameron Mackintosh.

To date Signature has presented 28 Sondheim productions, more than any other theatre in the United States.

For information about sponsorship and tickets, contact Ashley Richardson at (571) 527-1828 or [email protected].

Kuhn, Lewis, and d'Amboise have been special guest performers on Playbill’s Broadway on the High Seas cruises. Tickets are now on sale for the Broadway on the High Seas 10: Odyssey Through the Greek Isles cruise June 24–July 1, 2019, with a lineup of top Broadway stars to be announced. Call Judy Perl Worldwide for tickets at (844) 561-3625. Visit PlaybillTravel.com for booking and information.

Joel Grey, James Naughton, Chita Rivera, and More Celebrate John Kander’s 90th Birthday

Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!