Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert, The Band's Visit, and More Cast Albums Receive 2019 Grammy Award Nominations | Playbill

Awards Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert, The Band's Visit, and More Cast Albums Receive 2019 Grammy Award Nominations The 61st annual ceremony will be held February 10, 2019.
Jesus Christ Superstar Live and The Band's Visit

The Recording Academy recognized five cast recordings in the Best Musical Theater Album category for the 2019 Grammy Awards. The nominations were announced December 7.


The album for NBC's Emmy-winning Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert was among the nominees, along with the Broadway cast recordings for the Tony-winning The Band's Visit and this year's three Best Revival of a Musical Tony nominees: Carousel, My Fair Lady, and the Tony-winning Once On This Island.

This marks a return to five recordings earning nominations, following last year's race between Dear Evan Hansen, Hello, Dolly!, and Come From Away.

Included in the nominations are principal vocalists for each of the recordings: John Legend, Sara Bareilles, Alice Cooper, Ben Daniels, Brandon Victor Dixon, Eric Grönwall, Jin Ha, Norm Lewis, and Jason Tam for Jesus Christ Superstar; Etai Benson, Adam Kantor, Katrina Lenk, and Ari'el Stachel for The Band's Visit; Jessie Mueller, Joshua Henry, Lindsay Mendez, Renée Fleming, and Alexander Gemignani for Carousel; Lauren Ambrose, Harry Hadden-Paton, and Norbert Leo Butz for My Fair Lady; and Hailey Kilgore, Lea Salonga, Phillip Boykin, Merle Dandridge, Quentin Earl Darrington, Kenita R. Miller, Alex Newell, and Isaac Powell for Once On This Island.

Also recognized are producer Harvey Mason Jr. for Jesus Christ Superstar, producer Dean Sharenow, and composer David Yazbek for The Band's Visit, producer Steven Epstein for Carousel, My Fair Lady producers André Bishop, Van Dean, Hattie K. Jutagir, David Lai, Adam Siegel, and Ted Sperling, and Once On This Island's producing team: Ken Davenport, Hunter Arnold, Elliot Scheiner, and composers Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty.

Fleming was additionally nominated as a vocalist in the Best Opera Recording category for the Metropolitan Opera’s Der Rosenkavalier alongside fellow singers Elīna Garanča, Erin Morley, and Günther Groissböck, conductor Sebastian Weigle and producer David Frost.

Other familiar names to receive nods this year were Barbra Streisand for the showtune-laden The Music...The Mem'ries...The Magic!, Dear Evan Hansen duo Benj Pasek and Justin Paul for The Greatest Showman's "This Is Me," and Frozen team Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez for "Remember Me" from Coco (for which they received their second Oscar earlier this year).

The 61st annual ceremony will take place February 10, 2019. For the full list of nominees, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!