Roger Rees Awards Add Design Categories to 2024 Season | Playbill

Awards Roger Rees Awards Add Design Categories to 2024 Season

The NYC-area awards recognize the best in high school theatre, with winners continuing on to compete at The Jimmy Awards.

The Roger Rees Awards

The Broadway Education Alliance is partnering with the New York City Center Education and Community Engagement Department to add a scenic and costume design award to its Roger Rees Awards for Excellence in Student Performance. The annual ceremony recognizes the best in NYC-area high school musical theatre, with performance winners going on to compete on a national level at The Jimmy Awards.

The 2024 Roger Rees Awards will be held at Gerald W. Lunch Theater at John Jay College May 19 at 4:30 PM.

The newly created design categories will not reflect work done on high school productions, instead focusing on prospective work done by high school students interested in pursuing theatrical design. Those interested in participating for the 2024 awards will be asked to create scenic and costume designs inspired by the upcoming New York City Center Encores! revival of Titanic. Up to five winning students in each design category will be chosen to have their work showcased during the May 19 ceremony. Winners will also receive a $100 honorarium, an invite to either a design presentation or technical rehearsal of Titanic, and two tickets to the Encores! production's invited dress rehearsal June 11.

“As one of New York’s premiere arts organizations welcoming all New Yorkers to experience world-class performances, we are actively involved in building an engaged teen audience by going into schools and bringing students to our shows,” says City Center Vice President of Education and Community Engagement Tia Powell-Harris in a statement. “Participating in and helping to expand the impact of The Roger Rees Awards enables us to celebrate students across the greater New York City region while deepening their access to educational opportunities in the performing arts.”

Given since 2009, The Roger Rees Awards are produced by BEA and Disney Theatrical Group. Past performance winners have included Lauren Marchand, Mateo Lizcano, Ekele Ukegbu, Jeremy Fuentes, Andrew Barth Feldman, and Marla Louissaint.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!