Taylor Iman Jones, Talia Suskauer, Robyn Hurder, More Join Jay Armstrong Johnson's I Put a Spell on You: The Witches Era | Playbill

Cabaret & Concert News Taylor Iman Jones, Talia Suskauer, Robyn Hurder, More Join Jay Armstrong Johnson's I Put a Spell on You: The Witches Era

The annual concert event benefits the Ali Forney Center.

Taylor Iman Jones, Talia Suskauer, and Robyn Hurder

More casting has been revealed for this year's edition of I Put a Spell on You, which promises a fabulously spooky night of fun. Jay Armstrong Johnson's annual Hocus Pocus-themed Halloween event returns October 23 at Sony Hall, benefiting the Ali Forney Center, a full-service organization for LGBTQ+ youth to protect them from homelessness.

Johnson (Parade, The Phantom of the Opera) dons the red wig of head witch Winifred (played on screen by Bette Midler), with Allison Godleski and Amanda Williams Ware joining him as sisters Sarah and Mary, respectively (Sarah Jessica Parker and Kathy Najimy in the film).

Newly announced for the star-studded event are Justin Cooley (Kimberly Akimbo), Robyn Hurder (Moulin Rouge!, A Beautiful Noise), Mila Jam, Taylor Iman Jones (SIX: The Musical), RuPaul’s Drag Race's Marcia Marcia Marcia, Talia Suskauer (Wicked), DeMarius Copes (Some Like it Hot, Mean Girls), Drew Gehling (Waitress, Almost Famous) Zachary Daniel Jones (Wicked, Beetlejuice), Ashlyn Maddox (Parade), Tiffany Mann (Be More Chill, A Beautiful Noise), Maddox Martin, Julia Mattison (Death Becomes Her), Jake Pedersen (Wicked, Parade), Meghan Picerno (The Phantom of the Opera), Kathryn Priest, Ryann Redmond (Frozen, Once Upon a One More Time), Benji Rivera (New York, New York, Aladdin), Heath Saunders (Company), and Jackson Teeley (Parade). Connor Lyon will serve as an understudy.

The concert will begin at 8:00 PM and will be followed by a dance party and costume contest. Audiences are encouraged to dress to impress in their most creative Halloween attire for a chance to win fantastic prizes.

Written by Johnson, I Put a Spell on You: The Witches Era will be directed by Ahmad Simmons, and will feature associate direction and choreography by Michael Anthony Sylvester; choreography by Mike Baerga, Laya Barak, Phil Colgan, Eamon Foley, Lili Froehlich, Chris Jarosz, Jay Armstrong Johnson, Grace LeMieux, Reed Luplau, Tuan Malinowski, Sarah Meahl, Justice Moore, Mishay Petronelli, Sydnie Roy, Kellen Stancil, Michael Anthony Sylvester, and Jason Williams; assistant choreography by Karma Jenkins and Erin Lazzaro; production management by Sean Gorski for Hudson Theatrical Associates; and production stage managing by Julia Devore.

The creative team also includes costume design and art direction by DW; associate costume coordination by Taylor Barnett; costume supervision by Kelsey Bueger; costume design by Brian Hemesath, Sarah Dixey, and Chris Hynes; makeup design by Alcone Company’s Kyle Krueger; key makeup by J Guerra; SFX makeup by ​Christina Vida Roldos; props design by Andy Diaz; video design by Caite Hevner; additional video design by Jamie Kiliany; sound design by Josh Liebert; lighting design by Andrew Garvis; head SFX by Jeremy Chernick; associate SFX by Kaita Carmichael; hair department lead by Earon Chew Nealey; additional wigs by Bobby Clifton Zlotnik; BTS videography by Roberto Arajuo; and house photography by Thomas Mundell. The video team is led by Catriona Rubenis-Stevens, with videography by Jake Primmerman, Ian Havens, and Haven Houston; editing by Tessie Tokash; and sound editing by Michael Barry, Zoe Prescod, and the team at C5. Joe Hornberger serves as assistant to Jay Armstrong Johnson. Emily Ballou and Eli Tokash serve as additional producer assistants. 

The dance ensemble includes David Alea, Laura Aronoff, Hugo Brument, Delaney Burke, Emma Cook, Natalie Rose Copeland, Anakeiry Cruz, Justin DeParis, Zachary Eisenberg, Ava Esposito, Tom Feeney, Zachary Flores, Pedro Garza, Cassandra Gauthier, Jules Geiss, Jada German, Cam Gradel, Erin Joy Grgas, Rachel Grinde, Markelle Grutch, Anna Guerra, Niara Hardister, Abbey Hunt, Karma Jenkins, Brittany Jenkins, Will Jewett, Dainique Jones, Anjali Kanter, Maya Kitayama, Erin Lazarro, Grace Leieux, Giuseppe Little, Sam Lobel, Alexa Magro, Kelly McMillan, Justin Mock, Nick Nazzaro, Natalie Occhino, Shane Taylor Pretty, Gabriel Reyes, Kristin Roa, Aliyah Rose, Kevin Santos, Olivia Schuh, Jamal Shuriah, Christopher Tipps, Ahren Victory, Jason Wells, Jon Yepez, and Cole Zieser.

I Put a Spell on You: The Witches Era is produced by Katie Rosin for Kampfire Films, and executive produced by Max Clayton, Sean Cocchia, Todd Donovan, Meg Fofonoff, and Andy Jones. This year's sponsors include Abracadabra, Alcone, Bra Tenders, ​Broadway Cares, Capezio, The Costume Studio, DIG., Euphoria Studios, Open Jar Studios, Pearl Studios, Schmackary's, and Sony Hall.

Tickets start at $60 and are on sale now here. Sponsorship and VIP packages are also available here. All ticket purchases benefit the Ali Forney Center.

Check out the photo gallery below for a glimpse at last year's I Put a Spell On You concert.

Photos: See Inside Jay Armstrong Johnson's I Put A Spell On You: Alive at Sony Hall

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!