Recipients of Inaugural Dramatists Guild Advocacy Award Revealed | Playbill

Awards Recipients of Inaugural Dramatists Guild Advocacy Award Revealed

The awards will be presented in May at the Guild's annual ceremony at Sony Hall.

Ife Olujobi and Warren Leight

The Dramatists Guild of America has announced the recipients of the inaugural Dramatists Guild Advocacy Award, which will be presented at the Guild’s annual Awards Night May 6 at Sony Hall.

The Dramatists Guild Advocacy Award celebrates leading advocates within the theatrical community, highlighting those who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to promoting the professional and economic interests of theatre writers, ensuring their voices are heard and their contributions are recognized.

The inaugural recipients include Jordans playwright Ife Olujobi for her work advocating for wage increases for playwrights at The Public Theater, which marked the first increase in playwright pay at the Off-Broadway company in 12 years; and Pulitzer Prize finalist Warren Leight and the Captains of the 2023 Writers Guild of America Strike, who led the charge for new contracts for film and TV writers on the ground during ongoing negotiations with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers. Their efforts, galvanized by the solidarity of the Screen Actors Guild and the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, united the members of WGA East and West to demonstrate and leverage their power for 148 days. 

The 365 strike captains will be represented at the awards by Micharne Cloughley, Patrick Coker, Karen DiConcetto, David Handelman, Sheri Holman, Starlee Kine, Sarah Montana, Victoria Pollack, Iturri Sosa, and Adam Wiesen.

Previously announced awards recipients include Christopher Durang, Emily Mann, George C. Wolfe, Jocelyn Bioh, Adam Guettel, Austin Pendleton, Seayoung Yim, Minna Lee, Eboni Booth, and Shayan Lotfi. Presenters for the evening will include Arts Workers United, David Adjmi, Dave Harris, Mara Isaacs, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Rajiv Joseph, Roger Q. Mason, Robert O’Hara, Suzan-Lori Parks, and Matthew Sklar.

The Awards Night cocktail hour, which begins at 6:30 PM, will feature a performance from the musical trio Bandits on the Run. 

Since its inception in 1919, the Dramatists Guild of America has been the professional association for playwrights, librettists, lyricists, and composers writing for the American stage.

For tickets, click here.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!