Patrick Wilson, Christian Slater, More Join The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway | Playbill

Broadway News Patrick Wilson, Christian Slater, More Join The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway

Writer Warren Leight will be honored at the October 23 event at Town Hall.

Patrick Wilson Marc J. Franklin

More stars have joined the lineup for the upcoming return of The 24 Hour Plays On Broadway, which will take the stage at NYC's Town Hall October 23.

The 24 Hour Plays On Broadway sees theatre, TV, and film stars converging to write, rehearse, and perform brand-new plays and musicals about the world we live in—in just 24 hours. For this year's iteration, participants will gather the evening of October 22 to share a costume and prop that they've been asked to bring, after which teams will hold brainstorm sessions. Authors will write new works overnight, ready for actors and directors to start rehearsing October 23 in the morning for the evening performance.

Joining the list of writers making new works on the fly are Mona Mansour (The Vagrant Trilogy) and Jacquelyn Reingold (The Good Fight). As previously announced, the team of playwrights will also include Jesse Eisenberg (Happy Talk), Kenneth Lonergan (This is Our Youth), and Christopher Oscar Peña (Insecure).

A host of actors have also been added to the roster, including Christopher Briney (The Summer I Turned Pretty), David Burtka (How I Met Your MotherIt Shoulda Been You), Nadia Dajani (Caught Off Base, The Other Two), Dagmara Dominczyk (SuccessionPriscilla), Henri Esteve (Primo, Revenge), Gina Gershon (Cabaret, New Amsterdam), Michelle Gomez (The Flight Attendant, Doctor Who), Jamie Gray Hyder (True Blood, Law & Order: SVU), David Krumholtz (The Santa Clause, Leopoldstadt), Samantha Mathis (The Strain, Billions), Susannah Perkins (Network, The Wolves), Josh Radnor (How I Met Your MotherDisgraced), Annabella Sciorra (The Sopranos, Law & Order: Criminal Intent), Christian Slater (Mr. RobotHeathers), Ari’el Stachel (The Band’s Visit, Don’t Worry Darling), Mickey Sumner (Frances Ha, Snowpiercer), and Patrick Wilson (FargoThe Full Monty).

They join previously announced actors Ato Blankson-Wood (Slave Play), Cara Buono (Stranger Things), Kathryn Erbe (Law & Order: Criminal Intent), Raúl Esparza (Oliver!, Company), Clark Gregg (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.), Olli Haaskivi (Oppenheimer), T.R. Knight (It’s Only a Play), Mark Linn-Baker (My Favorite Year), Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago), Alison Pill (Three Tall Women), and Alyah Chanelle Scott (The Book of Mormon).

This year's new works will be directed by Osh Ashruf (The Vagrant Trilogy), Oliver Butler (What the Constitution Means to Me), Liz Carlson (SeaWive), Ivey Lowe (Providence), and Pippin Parker (Betrayed). As previously announced, Todd Almond (Girl From the North Country) will serve as the musical guest.

As previously reported, this year's event will honor playwright and screenwriter Warren Leight.

Tickets are available at

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!