Page 73 Names 2024 Writers Group and Playwriting Fellow | Playbill

Industry News Page 73 Names 2024 Writers Group and Playwriting Fellow

Members of the group meet twice a month to share their newest pages and discuss work with their peers.

Page 73 has named jose sebastian alberdi its 2024 Playwriting Fellow. The organization also announced its 2024 Writers Group, which includes alberdi, Calley N. Anderson, Jake Brasch, Garrett David Kim, Forest Malley, Genevieve Simon, May Treuhaft-Ali, and Elinor T Vanderburg.

An unrestricted cash award of $20,000 and a development budget of up to $10,000 will be awarded to alberdi to develop one or more new plays of his choosing. Alberdi will also work with Page 73 on at least one public presentation of a new play.

Page 73's Writers Group (formerly known as Interstate 73) will meet twice a month to share and discuss their work with their peers and with Page 73 Artistic Director Michael Walkup and Associate Artistic Director Kari Olmon. Each member will also receive a $3,000 stipend; members frequently participate in other Page 73 programs including residencies, retreats, readings, and workshops. 

“Theatre is not dead," Page 73 Managing Director Dennis Whipple said in a statement. "Our mission is critically important as high-quality playwrights will be the center of the American theatre rebuilding in this post-pandemic landscape. This brand relaunch will strategically increase our visibility and the resources needed to launch early-career playwrights who expand the theatrical canon.”

The Playwriting Fellowship is Page 73's most prestigious award. The 2023 Fellow, Majkin Holmquist, will be a Tow Foundation Playwright-in-Residence throughout 2024. Page 73 will also present Holmquist's play Stargazers April 8-May 4. Previous Playwriting Fellows include Heidi Schreck and Quiara Alegría Hudes.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!