Joanna 'JoJo' Levesque, Sophie Carmen-Jones Make Broadway Debuts in Moulin Rouge! April 11; Derek Klena, Ricky Rojas Return | Playbill

Broadway News Joanna 'JoJo' Levesque, Sophie Carmen-Jones Make Broadway Debuts in Moulin Rouge! April 11; Derek Klena, Ricky Rojas Return

The Tony-winning Moulin Rouge! The Musical continues at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre.

Joanna "JoJo" Levesque, Sophie Carmen-Jones, Derek Klena, and Ricky Rojas

Platinum-selling singer-songwriter Joanna “JoJo” Levesque and original West End cast member Sophie Carmen-Jones make their Broadway debuts in the Tony-winning Moulin Rouge! The Musical beginning April 11 at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre.

Levesque steps into the role of Satine for a 14-week limited engagement through July 16, while Carmen-Jones (Wicked) takes over as Nini, the part she originated in the London company. April 11 also marks the return of Tony nominee Derek Klena (Jagged Little Pill, Anastasia) to the role of Christian and Rojas (Burn the Floor) to the role of Santiago, the part he originated in Boston in 2018 and subsequently on Broadway in 2019.

The actors succeed Ashley Loren as Satine, Jessica Lee Goldyn as Nini, Caleb Marshall-Villarreal as Santiago, and Tony winner Aaron Tveit as Christian.

At 13, Levesque released her self-titled debut album; the breakout smash “Leave (Get Out)” made her the youngest-ever solo artist to have a debut No. 1 single in the U.S. Levesque's album eventually sold over four million copies. In 2016 she returned with Mad Love, which debuted in the Top 10 on the Billboard Top 200. In 2020 her song "Say So" with PJ Morton won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Song. On film, she has appeared in Aquamarine and RV, among others.

The current Broadway cast also features Eric Anderson as Harold Zidler, André Ward as Toulouse-Lautrec, and David Harris as The Duke of Monroth with Jacqueline B. Arnold, Tasia Jungbauer, David Merino, Sarah Bowden, Maya Bowles, Cameron Burke, Patrick Clanton, Raúl Contreras, Alexander Gil Cruz, Bobby Daye, Taurean Everett, Aaron C. Finley, Stephen Hernandez, Bahiyah Hibah, Nick Martinez, Kara Menendez, Kaitlin Mesh, Kelsey Orem, Dylan Paul, Clay Rice-Thomson, Amy Quanbeck, Arianna Rosario, Julius Anthony Rubio, Brandon Stonestreet, Alec Varcas, Cole Wachman, and Bria Jené Williams.

Moulin Rouge!, based on the 2001 film, opened on Broadway in 2019 following a Boston tryout. The musical was subsequently nominated for 14 Tony Awards in 2020, winning 10, including Best Musical.

The production is directed by Alex Timbers with a book by John Logan (based on the Baz Luhrmann-directed movie of the same name) and choreography by Sonya Tayeh. The score features covers of "Fireworks" by Katy Perry, "Your Song" by Elton John, and "Chandelier" by Sia, among many other modern pop songs. The story takes place at Paris' famed Moulin Rouge and follows the tragic love story between performer Satine and composer Christian.

The production's music team includes musical supervisor Justin Levine, music producer Matt Stine, and music director Julie McBride. Orchestrations are by Levine, Stine, Katie Kresek, and Charlie Rosen, with dance arrangements by Levine and Stine.

Also on the creative team are scenic designer Derek McLane, costume designer Catherine Zuber, lighting designer Justin Townsend, sound designer Peter Hylenski, hair designer David Brian Brown, and makeup designer Sarah Cimino, with creative services by Luhrmann and Catherine Martin. Casting is by Jim Carnahan and Stephen Kopel.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!