Isabelle McCalla to Join Broadway's Shucked; Caroline Innerbichler Sets Final Bow | Playbill

Broadway News Isabelle McCalla to Join Broadway's Shucked; Caroline Innerbichler Sets Final Bow

A veteran of Broadway's The Prom, McCalla will be the corn-y musical's new Maizy.

Isabelle McCalla

Isabelle McCalla will take over as Maizy in Broadway's Shucked beginning September 8, succeeding original cast member Caroline Innerbichler. Innerbichler has set her final performance for September 3. The Tony-nominated musical continues its run at the Nederlander Theatre.

"I’m so excited that I will be ‘getting Shucked’ eight times a week on stage at the Nederlander Theatre!," says McCalla. "Wait…. I just got that… Oh, no... I have to call my family back and explain."

"Being on stage with this remarkable company of actors has been one of the great joys of my professional life," adds Innerbichler. "I have some exciting things cooking that I can’t share just yet, but all will be revealed in good time. Even though I’ll be leaving Shucked, I will still be cheering everyone on as they continue to make audiences feel the love of Cob County."

Shucked features a book by Tony winner Robert Horn (Tootsie, 13) and a score by Grammy-winning Nashville-based duo Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally. Three-time Tony winner Jack O'Brien (Hairspray, The Front Page) is at the helm. The "farm-to-fable" musical takes place in Cobb County, where the population is small and the corn fields are endless, following its residents as they work to fix their failing corn crop. But don't pay too much attention to that—it's come for the story, stay for the corn puns at Shucked.

McCalla will join a cast including 2023 Tony winner Alex Newell as Lulu, John Behlmann as Gordy, Kevin Cahoon as Peanut, Andrew Durand as Beau, Ashley D. Kelley as Storyteller 1, and Grey Henson as Storyteller 2. Comprising the ensemble are Jimmy Brewer, Audrey Cardwell, Dwayne Clark, Rheaume Crenshaw, Nyla Sostre, Scott Stangland, Yasmeen Sulieman, and Quinn VanAntwerp, with swings Miki Abraham, Ken Wulf Clark, Colin Cunliffe, Traci Elaine Lee, and Alan Wiggins rounding out the company. Casting is by Stephen Kopel and C12 Casting.

The production features choreography by Sarah O'Gleby and music supervision, music direction, orchestrations, and arrangements by Tony nominee Jason Howland. Scenic design is by Scott Pask with costume design by Tilly Grimes, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by John Shivers, and wig design by Mia Neal. John Miller is the music coordinator, Billy Jay Stein and Hiro Iida of Strange Cranium designed the electronic music, and Juniper Street Productions handles production management.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!