Emilio Sosa, Caesar Samayoa, More Honored With 2022 Hola Awards | Playbill

Awards Emilio Sosa, Caesar Samayoa, More Honored With 2022 Hola Awards

The honors recognize the best in Hispanic and Latiné talent in theatre, film, and TV.

Emilio Sosa Heather Gershonowitz

Honorees receiving 2022 HOLA Awards have been revealed. The awards, given by The Hispanic Organization of Latin Actors, recognize Hispanic and Latiné talent in theatre, television, and film. As previously announced, Chita Rivera will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at this year's ceremony, set for November 14 at Instituto Cervantes in NYC.

Among the newly announced recipients are Tony-nominated costume designer and American Theatre Wing Chair Emilio SosaCome From Away star Caesar Samayoa, Off-Broadway's ¡Americano! The Musical, and more. See the full list of honorees below.

Past HOLA Award winners include Antonio Banderas, Danny Burstein, Bobby Cannavale, Moises Kaufman, John Leguizamo, Bianca Marroquin, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Alfred Molina, Rosie Pérez, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Mercedes Ruehl, and David Zayas.

See the full list of 2022 HOLA Award recipients in theatrical categories:

HOLA Lifetime Achievement Award
Chita Rivera

HOLA Ilka Advocacy Award
Emilio Sosa

Raul Julia HOLA Founders Award
Wendy Curiel

HOLA José Ferrer Tespis Award
Caesar Samayoa

HOLA Excellence in Television Award
Hemky Madera

HOLA Excellence in Theater Award
LAByrinth Theater Company
Latinx Playwrights Circle

HOLA Elizabeth Peña Breakthrough Artist Award
Jaime Lozano

HOLA Excellence in Media Award
Fernando Cardenas

Gilberto Zaldivar Hola Award for Outstanding Production
¡Americano! the Musical (Quixote Productions)

Outstanding Achievement in Playwrighting
Luis Araújo, Mercado Libre (Boundless Theatre Company)

Outstanding Achievement in Directing
Ismanuel Rodriguez, Mercado Libre (Boundless Theatre Company)

Outstanding Achievement in Production Design
La Dama Boba (Repertorio Espańol), Robert Weber Federico, Lighting and Sound Design
Mercado Libre
(Boundless Theatre Company), Maria Cristina Fusté, Lighting Design & Omayra Garriga, Scenic Design

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble Cast
¡Americano! the Musical (Quixote Productions)-Sean Ewing, Legna Cedillo, Yassmin Alers, Johanna Carlisle-Zepeda, Joseph Paul Cavazos, Juan Luis Espinal, Justin Figueroa, Ruben Flores, Megan Elyse Fulmer, Henry Gendron, Anne-Lise Koyabe, Alessandro J. Lopez, Edgar Lopez, Carolina Miranda, Alex Paez, Ryan Reyes, Lannie Rubio, Nicole Paloma Sarro, Robbie Serrano, Maria Cristina Posada Slye, Pablo Torres

Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actor
Gerado Gudińo, Mercado Libre (Boundless Theatre Company)
Diana Pou, Mercado Libre (Boundless Theatre Company)

Outstanding Performance by a Featured Actor
Rafael Beato, Bloom (IATI Theater)
Ursula Tinoco, Muerte En El Nilo (Coqui Theater)

Outstanding Solo Performance
Marc Parejo, Con Los Ojos Cerrados (Maniac Producciones)

Outstanding Production in Virtual Theater
El Retablillo De Don Cristóbal (Pin Productions)

Outstanding Produciton in Microtheater
César Chávez and the Migrants (The César Chávez Story), (Teatro Sea)

Outstanding Production in Children’s Theater
Los Grises (Teatro Sea)

Hola Special Recognitions
La Paz Perpetua (Repertorio Espańol), For Original Montage
Life Lessons
(Thalia Spanish Theater), For Its Theme of Inclusion and Education

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!