Ann Hould-Ward, Richard Hudson, More Win 2024 TDF Irene Sharaff Awards | Playbill

Awards Ann Hould-Ward, Richard Hudson, More Win 2024 TDF Irene Sharaff Awards

The honors will be presented April 5 at The Edison Ballroom.

TDF has announced the recipients of the 2024 TDF Irene Sharaff Awards. The honors will be presented Friday, April 5 at The Edison Ballroom, beginning with a pre-awards cocktail reception at 5:30 PM.

Tony winner Ann Hould-Ward (Beauty and the Beast) will be honored with the Sharaff Award for Sustained Excellence in Costume Design. Formerly the Lifetime Achievement Award in Costume Design, the award is presented annually to a designer whose work reflects the qualities of Sharaff's own, including a keen sense of color, a feeling for material and texture, an eye for shape and form, and a sure command of the craft.

The Robert L. B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design will be presented to Tony winner Richard Hudson (The Lion King). The award recognizes theatrical design that evokes beauty, feeling, and empathy. 

The Kitty Leech Ascending Artist Award will be presented to costume designer Machine Dazzle, and the Irene Sharaff Artisan Award will be presented to Tricorne, Inc. 

“These 2024 awardees represent the very best of our design community in all of its glorious and varied forms,” Stephen Cabral, director of the TDF Costume Collection, said in a statement. “We get to celebrate a designer who led the Beast to the dance, an artisan that helped Bob Mackie 'Turn Back Time,' a scenic designer who showed us the 'Circle of Life,' and a multidisciplinary artist who constantly dazzles. I truly couldn’t be more excited about the TDF Irene Sharaff Awards this year.”

Winners were selected by the Awards Voting Committee, which includes Committee Chair Stephen Cabral, Dede AyiteGregg Barnes, Dean Brown, Linda Cho, Traci DiGesu, Lana Fritz, Jess Goldstein, Rodney Gordon, Brian Hemesath, Allen Lee Hughes, Holly Hynes, Dan Lawson, Anna Louizos, Katherine Marshall, Mimi Maxmen, David Murin, Sally Ann Parsons, Scott Pask, Robert Perdziola, Carrie Robbins, Alejo Vietti, Court Watson, and David Zinn.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!