The Astaire Awards, Honoring the Best in Dance, Are Now the Chita Rivera Awards | Playbill

Classic Arts News The Astaire Awards, Honoring the Best in Dance, Are Now the Chita Rivera Awards The inaugural ceremony will take place in September.
Chita Rivera Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Fred and Adele Astaire Awards have been rebranded to celebrate the legacy of Broadway legend Chita Rivera. The inaugural Chita Rivera Awards for Dance and Choreography, presented by American Dance Machine for the 21st Century, will be given September 11 at the Hammerstein Ballroom. Nominations will be announced May 1 at the Friar’s Club.

The ceremony is traditionally held in May, but the board of directors revealed in March that this year’s awards were postponed and would be relaunched in the fall.


“What a wonderful surprise it was when I heard about this award in my name,” said Rivera in a statement. “It’s so important to encourage young dancers and choreographers…they are our future. And ADM21 is doing just that.”

This year’s awarding committee consists of dance writer Sylviane Gold, former Alvin Ailey Artistic Director Judith Jamison, former New York Times dance critic Anna Kisselgoff, dancer and choreographer Anna Kisselgoff, former New York City Ballet principal dancer Robert La Fosse, Tony winner Donna McKechnie, former Dance Magazine editor-in-chief Wendy Perron, and Tony nominee Lee Roy Reams.

The awards honor excellence in dance and choreography on both stage and screen.

See Chita Rivera Play Carnegie Hall


Explore Classic Arts:
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!