Sutton Foster and Brian d'Arcy James Are Winners of Sarah Siddons Society Awards | Playbill

News Sutton Foster and Brian d'Arcy James Are Winners of Sarah Siddons Society Awards Sutton Foster and Brian d'Arcy James, who co-starred in Broadway's Shrek The Musical, have been named winners of the Sarah Siddons Society's Actor of the Year Awards, according to the Chicago Sun-Times.

{asset::caption} {asset::credit}

Two-time Tony winner Foster and multiple Tony nominee d'Arcy James will be presented with the awards May 16, 2016, at Northwestern University's Pick Staiger Concert Hall.

While an undergraduate at Northwestern University, d'Arcy James received a scholarship from the Society. The singing actor is the first scholarship winner to receive the Society's annual acting award.

Last year's award was won by Tony winner Jessie Mueller.

The Siddons Society's mission is to provide scholarships to theatre students at major universities and colleges in the Chicago area.

For over 60 years the Sarah Siddons Society has presented the award to America's most celebrated stage and film actors. Helen Hayes was the first recipient in 1953. Since then actresses such as Bette Davis, Lauren Bacall, Julie Harris, Carol Channing, Colleen Dewhurst, Jessica Tandy, Liza Minnelli, Julie Andrews, Bernadette Peters, Patti LuPone, Bebe Neuwirth and Audra McDonald have received the award. Many of Chicago's finest actresses have received the Society's Leading Lady Award, including Hollis Resnick, Barbara Robertson, Rondi Reed, Mary Beth Fisher and E. Faye Butler.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!