Rhinebeck Writers Retreat Will Develop Musicals by Tysen and Miller, Jenny Giering, and Will Van Dyke | Playbill

Industry News Rhinebeck Writers Retreat Will Develop Musicals by Tysen and Miller, Jenny Giering, and Will Van Dyke The retreat provides a secluded summer getaway for writers of new musicals in the Hudson Valley.

Nine new musicals will be developed this summer as part of the Rhinebeck Writers Retreat, established in 2011 by former National Alliance for Musical Theatre Executive Director Kathy Evans.

Selected writers pay nothing and receive a $500 stipend during their individual week-long stay. All expenses are covered, including travel costs up to $750 per writer. Writers with children or other care-giving responsibilities are eligible and, if they are selected, Rhinebeck Writers Retreat will work with them to accommodate their housing needs.

The retreat does not claim any stake in future royalties from participating musicals.

The 2017 writers follow:

Mark Sonnenblick, Devotion; Patricia Cotter, John Copeland, Ingrid Elizabeth, and Tylan Greenstein, Mrs. Nash; Jenny Giering and Sean Barry, What We Leave Behind; Brett Ryback and Eric Ulloa, Passing Through; Jeff Talbott and Will Van Dyke, Seven Broken Hearts; Ben Bonnema and Christopher Staskel, One Way; Stacey Luftig and Phillip Palmer, Saving Amelia; Kate Douglas and Shayfer James, The Seven Who Were Hanged; and Chris Miller and Nathan Tysen, Eric Hermannson's Soul.

The nine musicals were selected from 113 applications by a panel of new musical experts: Kent Nicholson of Playwrights Horizons, Donna Lynn Hilton of Goodspeed Musicals, Kurt Deutsch of Sh-K-Boom Records, Jason Eagan of Ars Nova, Mara Isaacs of Octopus Theatricals, Playwright Darrah Cloud, and Robert Zukerman, formerly Director of Theatre at NYSCA.

The 2017 retreat is underwritten by Liz Armstrong, Hal Aronow-Thiel and Pat Henry, Rick Farrar and Jeff Zadroga, Amy Faxon, Peter Risafi and Steven Wheeler, and Alec Stais and Elissa Burke.

In past years the Rhinebeck Writers Retreat has welcomed such writers as Stew and Heidi Rodewald; Duncan Sheik and Kyle Jarrow; Joe Iconis, Lance Rubin, and Jason “SweetTooth” Williams; Kait Kerrigan and Brian Lowdermilk; Alex Timbers and Michael Friedman; and Michael Kooman and Chris Dimond.

Visit RhinebeckWriters.org.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!