Rhinebeck Writers Retreat to Develop Eight New Musicals; Lineup Announced | Playbill

News Rhinebeck Writers Retreat to Develop Eight New Musicals; Lineup Announced The fifth annual Rhinebeck Writers Retreat has announced the 17 writers slated to develop eight new musicals; selected from over 90 musicals, they include Obie, Larson and Kleban Award winners. Taking Step Three13, the contemporary rock/hip-hop reimagining of Dostoevsky's "Crime and Punishment," which played Joe's Pub in 2012, is among the scheduled developments.

Beginning July 5, for eight weeks throughout the summer, eight creative teams will have a residency in Rhinebeck, NY, and will be provided with a home, transportation and stipend to develop new musical theatre works.

The complete lineup is listed below:

Run Away Home by Charlie Sohne and Tim Rosser (dual recipients of the 2015 Jonathan Larson Grant), underwritten by Rick Farrar and Jeff Zadroga. (July 5-12).

Only Anne by John Dietrich and Will Buck, underwritten by Alec Stais and Elissa Burke. (July 12-19).

Taking Step Three13 by Matthew Doers and Eric Webb, underwritten by Amy Faxon, Michael A. Jenkins, Harry, Cathy, Gabriella and James Rubin Foundation. (July 19-26). Indian Joe by Elizabeth A. Davis, Luke Holloway and Jason Michael Webb, underwritten by Peter Risafi and Steven Wheeler with additional support from the John Levin and Diane Keefe fund. (July 26 – Aug. 2).

The More Things Change by Kellen Blair (Drama Desk nominee) and Joe Kinosian (co-recipient of Joseph Jefferson Award), underwritten by Stacey Mindich Productions. (Aug. 2-9).

Buffalo Bella: An American Tall Tale by Kirsten Childs (Obie winner), underwritten by Liz Armstrong. Previously commissioned by Playwrights Horizons with funds provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Musicals in Partnership Initiative. (Aug. 9 –16).

Mitzvah by David Hein and Irene Sankoff, underwritten by The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund with additional support by Steve Reynolds. (Aug. 16-23).

Bhangin’ It by Mike Lew, Rehana Lew Mirza and Sam Willmott (2015 Kleban Prize recipient and 2015 Jonathan Larson grant), underwritten by Stacey Mindich Productions. (Aug. 23-30).

The Rhinebeck Writers Retreat is a not-for-profit organization providing a sanctuary for musical theatre writers to develop their musicals in the heart of the Hudson Valley. Former National Alliance for Musical Theatre executive director Kathy Evans created the retreat, which welcomed its first group of writers during summer 2011. For more information visit RhinebeckWriters.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!