Photos: The 2023 Idea Awards for Theatre | Playbill

Photo Features Photos: The 2023 Idea Awards for Theatre

The Bret Adams and Paul Reisch Foundation gave out the honors at a December 4 ceremony.

Grace McLean Marco Quezada

The Bret Adams and Paul Resich Foundation gave out the 2023 Idea Awards for Theatre December 4 at a private ceremony held at The Players. The evening saw three categories of grants awarded to new voices in playwriting and musical theatre along with the visionary playwrights that inspired them. See photos from the event below.

The Tooth of Time Distinguished Career Award went to Beth Henley (Crimes of the Heart), which includes a $25,000 prize.

Jesse Jae Hoon took the Ollie New Play Award, while Grace McLean and the team of Brandy Hoang Collier, Clare Fuyuko Bierman, and Erika Ji both received Vivace Musical Theatre Awards. Each recipient of those honors also receives a $25,000 prize.

Photos: 2023 Idea Awards For Theatre

All six Idea Award winners also received a stone statuette hand carved by Bruce Ostler.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!