Outer Critics Circle Names New President | Playbill

Industry News Outer Critics Circle Names New President David Gordon succeeds Simon Saltzman, who stays on as vice president.

David Gordon has been named the new president of the Outer Critics Circle, the organization of writers and commentators covering New York theatre for out-of-town newspapers, national publications, and other media beyond Broadway. Gordon, of TheaterMania, takes over the role from former president Simon Saltzman, effective with the start of the 2018–2019 theatre season.

Saltzman will continue his longtime association with the OCC as vice president.

"As an active member of the OCC Executive Committee, I am honored to become its latest president," Gordon said in a statement. "I have witnessed the best possible example in Simon Saltzman, and I look forward to working with him to preserve the extraordinary legacy of this organization while shepherding it into the future."

The 2018 Outer Critics Circle Awards were celebrated at a gala dinner May 24 at Sardi's Restaurant in New York City, with Jenn Colella, Jim Dale, Christine Ebersole, and Martha Plimpton presenting awards.


Flip through photos of the celebration below:

Inside the 2018 Outer Critics Circle Awards

Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!