Magic Johnson, Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley, Al Roker, More Join Inaugural Black Theatre United Gala | Playbill

Benefits and Galas Magic Johnson, Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley, Al Roker, More Join Inaugural Black Theatre United Gala

The evening will also feature performances by Broadway stars in celebration of Black culture's impact on the industry.

Black Theatre United (BTU) has announced the lineup of honorary co-chairs for its upcoming inaugural gala, A Salute to Broadway Legends: Past, Present, and Future. The event is set for Monday, October 30 at the Ziegfeld Ballroom.

The group of co-chairs includes Earvin "Magic" Johnson, Cookie Johnson, Al Roker and Deborah Roberts, Blair Underwood, Congresswoman Ayanna Presley, Tommi A. Vincent, and Troy Vincent Sr. 

The evening will celebrate the mark Black culture has had and will continue to have on Broadway, and honor Kandi Burruss, Common, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Samuel L. Jackson, Robyn Coles, Dr. N Anthony Coles, and Dr. Indira Etwaroo. 

As previously announced, the gala will also feature performances by BTU founders Vanessa Williams, Norm Lewis, Audra McDonald, LaChanze, Billy Porter, Capathia Jenkins, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Darius de Haas, Natasha Yvette Williams, and Lillias White. Presenters include Andréa Burns, Nicholas Christopher, Lorna Courtney, Wilson Cruz, Seth Rudetsky, and Josh Groban

BTU is a nonprofit founded to build pathways of access and opportunities for Black students and industry professionals who have been historically marginalized in the theatre community. Proceeds from the gala will support BTU's programs, including mentorships, student internships, BTU's education program, and BTU's annual Advocacy Summit. 

The nonprofit's full founding group of actors, directors, musicians, writers, technicians, producers, and stage management includes Lisa Dawn Cave, Darius de Haas, Carin Ford, Capathia Jenkins, LaChanze, Kenny Leon, Norm Lewis, Audra McDonald, Michael McElroy, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Wendell Pierce, Billy Porter, Anna Deavere Smith, Allyson Tucker, Tamara Tunie, Lillias White, NaTasha Yvette Williams, Schele Williams and Vanessa Williams. 

For more information or to purchase tickets, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!