Hamilton’s New Burr and Eliza Revealed for Broadway | Playbill

News Hamilton’s New Burr and Eliza Revealed for Broadway New casting has been announced for the leading players of Hamilton.
Brandon Victor Dixon and Lexi Lawson

Two-time Tony Award nominee Brandon Victor Dixon (Shuffle Along) will begin performances mid-August (date TBA) as Aaron Burr in Hamilton on Broadway, it was announced July 6 by producer Jeffrey Seller. Also joining the cast July 11 are Lexi Lawson in the role of Eliza Hamilton and Michael Luwoye as the Alexander Hamilton alternate.

Lawson, who played Mimi in the tour of Rent and Vanessa in the tour of In the Heights, makes her Broadway debut by joining the cast as Eliza. Luwoye also makes his Broadway debut in Hamilton, having appeared most recently Off-Broadway in the musical Invisible Thread. Sydney James Harcourt, Austin Smith and Andrew Chappelle are currently the understudies for the role of Aaron Burr.

As previously announced, Javier Muñoz, who alternated in the title role of Alexander Hamilton with writer-star Lin-Manuel Miranda, assumes the role full time July 11.

Miranda, Tony winner Leslie Odom, Jr. and Tony nominee Phillipa Soo play their final performances July 9. Ensemble member Ariana DeBose, who originated the role of the Bullet and has been with the production since its Off-Broadway run at the Public, also departs the show July 9. Jon Rua, a Hamilton understudy, played his final performance June 29. Click here to read why the original Hamilton stars will go down in history.

The rest of the cast, including Tony winners Daveed Diggs as Marquis de Lafayette/Thomas Jefferson and Renee Elise Goldsberry as Angelica Schuyler, remain the same.

The Tony and Pulitzer Prize-winning Hamilton also stars Tony nominee Christopher Jackson as George Washington, Okieriete Onaodowan as Hercules Mulligan/James Madison, Anthony Ramos as John Laurens/Philip Hamilton, Jasmine Cephas Jones as Peggy Schuyler/Maria Reynolds, Rory O’Malley as King George, Thayne Jasperson as Samuel Seabury, Neil Haskell as Charles Lee and Ephraim Sykes as George Eacker.

The cast also includes Carleigh Bettiol, Andrew Chappelle, Alysha Deslorieux, Hope Easterbrook, Karla Puno Garcia, David Guzman, Gregory Haney, Sasha Hollinger, Sasha Hutchings, Elizabeth Judd, Morgan Marcell, Austin Smith, Seth Stewart, Kamille Upshaw, Voltaire Wade-Greene and Daniel J. Watts.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!