Hamilton Parody Spamilton Named Show of the Year at 2017 MAC Awards | Playbill

Cabaret & Concert News Hamilton Parody Spamilton Named Show of the Year at 2017 MAC Awards Carol Woods honored as Celebrity of the Year.

Gerard Alessandrini’s Spamilton, a musical parody of the Broadway blockbuster Hamilton, was named Show of the Year at the 2017 Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs (MAC) Awards March 28 at B.B. King Blues Club & Grill.

Carol Woods honored as Celebrity of the Year, Meg Flather was named Female Vocalist of the year, and Bob Diamond was named Male Vocalist. The awards honor the best in New York cabarets, including musicians, writers, and directors. Nominations were announced February 23.


Here is a complete list of nominations, with the winners marked with an asterisk (*).

Female Vocalist
Celia Berk, Manhattan Serenade
Sally Darling, Totally Noël
* Meg Flather, Portraits; Carly And Me
Josephine Sanges, Haven’t We Met?; To Ann, With Love
Lisa Viggiano, Night In The City

Male Vocalist
* Bob Diamond, The Gift Of Love
Richard Holbrook, Richard Sings Rodgers With A Lot Of Heart; Always December: A Holiday Musical Celebration
Jeff Macauley, Mwah! The Dinah Shore Show; It Was Me; Le Grand Tour
Stearns Matthews, Me And The Gersh-Twins
Jim Speake, Sweet Life, The Show

Major Artist
Natalie Douglas, Human Heart; Stevie Songs; Freedom Songs 2016; A Very Natalie New Year; Others
* Sidney Myer, Live At The Beechman
Stacy Sullivan, A Night At The Troubadour

Christine Andreas (Feinstein’s/54 Below)
Michael Feinstein (Feinstein’s/54 Below)
Donna Mckechnie (Feinstein’s/54 Below)
Mark Nadler, Does This Room Make My Act Look Big? (Pangea)
* Carol Woods, Ain’t We Got Fun: The Music Of Richard Whiting (Metropolitan Room)

New York Debut – Female
* Amorika Amoroso, The Whore Next Door
Hanna Burke, Why Is Everyone Laughing? A Tribute To Madeline Kahn
Mary Sue Daniels, Straight Outta ‘Conda
Sallie Jo Hadley, Bustin’ Loose: The Liberation Of Sallie Jo Hadley

New York Debut – Male
Matt Dipasquale, Neither Here Nor There
* Tommy J. Dose, By.The.Book
Charlie Romo (A.K.A. Charlie Povoromo)

Spoken Word Artist
Karen Finley, Unicorn Gratitude Mystery
* Shawn Moninger, Because I Can 2: Second Addiction

Impersonation/Characterization/Drag Artist
Margoh! Channing, Margoh! Channing Is Uncorked; Margoh! Channing Is Hung
Lady Bunny, Trans Jester
* Rick Skye, Liza Live!

Musical Comedy Performer
Lynda Rodolitz, Lynda Rodolitz Is Off Her Rocker
* Billie Roe, Monopoly
Aaron Weinstein, Violinspiration

Anita Gillette & Penny Fuller, Sin Twisters Too
Sally Mayes & Jeff Harnar, Double Take
* Those Girls (Eve Eaton, Rachel Hanser, Karen Mack, Wendy A. Russell), Those Girls At The Beechman

* Almost Like Being In Love: An Evening of Alan Jay Lerner (performed by KT Sullivan and Mark Nadler, directed by Mark Nadler)
Broadway Boozy Brunch (created by Manuel Araujo and Patrick Degennaro, produced by Don’t Tell Mama)
Rodgers, Hart, And Hammerstein (created and written by Marcus Simeone)

Recurring Series
It's Just a Number (created, produced, and directed by Bobbie Horowitz)
* Ricky Ritzel’s Broadway (created and produced by Ricky Ritzel; staged and choreographed by Jay Rogers and Aaron Morishita)
Salon (Mark Janas, Founder, Artistic Director, Host; Tanya Moberly, Executive Producer)

Bernie Furshpan, This Is Your Night
Tom Gamblin, Metrostar Talent Challenge
* Bobbie Horowitz, It’s Just a Number
Nancy Witter, Nancy Witter’s Comedy Variety Series

Special Production
The Joe Iconis Christmas Spectacular (written and created by Joe Iconis, produced by Jennifer Ashley Tepper, directed by John Simpkins)
* Mama's Next Big Act (produced by Don’t Tell Mama and Lennie Watts)
Metrostar Talent Challenge (produced by Joseph Macchia, Tom Gamblin, Beck Lee, Bernie Furshpan)

Musical Director
Rick Jensen
Daryl Kojak
* Tracy Stark
Steven Ray Watkins

Barry Kleinbort
* Lina Koutrakos
Mark Nadler

Technical Director
* Collette Black
Armando Bravi
Adam Decarlo
Jason Ellis
Abby Judd

Ensemble Instrumentalist
Donna Kelly, Drums/Percussion
* Tom Hubbard, Bass
Matt Scharfglass, Bass
Kenji Tajima, Drums/Percussion

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer – Male
Paul Pilcz, Don’t Tell Mama
* Tommy J. Dose, Don’t Tell Mama
Adam Chandler, Duplex
Joe Ardizzone, Brandy’s
Bobby Belfry, Brandy’s

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer – Female
Tara Martinez, Don’t Tell Mama
* Michelle Dowdy, Don’t Tell Mama
Lauren Mufson, Brandy’s
Heidi Weyhmueller, Brandy’s
Laura Pavles, Don’t Tell Mama

Piano Bar Instrumentalist
Michael Isaacs, Duplex, Brandy’s, Don’t Tell Mama
William Tn Hall, Don’t Tell Mama, Duplex
Brian Nash, Duplex
Darius Frowner, Duplex
* Rick Jensen, Brandy’s

Restaurant/Lounge Entertainer
* Bill Zeffiro, La Rivista
Clare Cooper, Don't Tell Mama Happy Hour
Patrick Degennaro, Duplex Happy Hour

Recording (LaMott Friedman Award)
* Celia Berk, Manhattan Serenade
Scott Evan Davis, Next
Ginger Minj, Sweet T

Major Recording
Mary Foster Conklin, Photographs
* Natalie Douglas, Human Heart
Tracy Stark, Shades Of Beautiful – The Tracy Stark Songbook

* Before I ForgetMusic and Lyrics by Scott Evan Davis
“Filling Space” Music and Lyrics by Derek Gregor and Selda Sahin
“More Than Fine” Music and Lyrics by Andrew David Sotomayor
“Thirty-Five Years” Music and Lyrics by Emily Bindiger
“Waiting” Music by Derek Grego; Lyrics by Sam Carner

Comedy/Novelty Song
“The Christmas Tree Blues” Music by Derek Gregor; Lyrics by Sam Carner
* “The Mom Song” Music by Nate Buccieri; Lyrics by Elaine Brier
“Selfie” Music and Lyrics by Drew Fornarola
“Sitting At The Piano” Music and Lyrics by Christine Lavin
“So Many Reasons” Music by Scott Schneider; Lyrics by Tim Aumiller

Show of the Year
Marilyn In Fragments
Molly Pope In A Star Is Born
Midnight At The Never Get
The Joe Iconis Christmas Spectacular
* Spamilton

The 31st annual ceremony, produced by Julie Miller and directed by Lennie Watts, honored Michele Lee with the Lifetime Achievement Award, Ken Starrett with the Board of Directors Award, Ira Lee Collins with the Hanson Award, and Joseph Macchia/Cabaret Cares with the Ruth Kurtzman Benefit Series Award.
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!