Go Inside the 2024 Jonathan Larson Grant Concert | Playbill

Awards Go Inside the 2024 Jonathan Larson Grant Concert

The event featured performances of work by grant winners of the past four years, with special guests Betsy Wolfe, Andy Mientus, Larry Owens, and more.

Larry Owens and Betsy Wolfe Natalie Powers

Jonathan Larson Grant recipients of the past four years were honored March 25 with a special concert at Florence Gould Hall. The grants, presented by the American Theatre Wing and named for Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award-winning composer Larson, are awarded annually to exceptional musical theatre composers, lyricsts, librettists, or writing teams.

The evening's honorees included 2023 grant recipients Daniel Henri Emond (Kill The Whale: A Musical Odyssey), Julian Hornik (Tenn), The Kilbanes (Weightless), Larry Owens (Larry Owens’ Sondheimia), Veronica Mansour (Lighthouse), and songwriting team Jacinta Clusellas, Tatiana Pandiani, and Melis Aker (Azul); 2022 recipients Christie Baugher (The Fitzgeralds of St. Paul), Paris Ray Dozier (Last Stop on Market Street), and Jaime Lozano (The Yellow Brick Road); 2021 recipients Grace McLean (Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812, In The Green), Kit Yan (Interstate, Miss Step), Shayok Misha Chowdhury & Laura Grill Jaye (Blood Oleander), The Lazours (We Live in Cairo), and Zeniba Now (The Loophole); and 2020 recipients Anna K. Jacobs (Teeth), Benjamin Velez (Kiss My Aztec, Borderline), The Bengsons (Hundred Days), and Rona Siddiqui (Salaam Medina: Tales of a Halfghan). Click here to access a playlist of the honorees' work. 

Additional special guests included Julie Larson, Betsy Wolfe, Andy Mientus, Krysta Rodriguez, Jae W.B., Ashley Pérez Flanagan, Jana Djenne Jackson, and the cast of Anna K. Jacobs-Michael R. Jackson's Teeth (currently running at Playwrights Horizons).

Larson Grant winners receive a $12,500 unrestricted grant and a $2,085 Saw Island Foundation Recording Grant. Recipients also have access to further opportunities, including residencies, via a new partnership between the American Theatre Wing and the American Music Theatre Project at Northwestern University.

Check out performances from the evening in the videos below, including Daniel Edmond's "Pip," performed by Jana Djenne Jackson; Veronica Mansour's "Everything's Edgar;" and Kit Yan's "Unremarkable," performed by Jae W.B.  

Previous grant recipients include Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin (The Prom, Elf), Shaina Taub (Suffs), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen, La La Land), Laurence O’Keefe (Legally Blonde: The Musical), Joe Iconis (Be More Chill), Dave Malloy (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Amanda Green (Hands on a Hardbody), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop), and more.

See photos from the concert below.

    Photos: The 2024 Jonathan Larson Grant Concert

    Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!