Final Albums of The Michael Friedman Collection Drop March 24 | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Final Albums of The Michael Friedman Collection Drop March 24

Grace McLean, Heath Saunders, Mary Testa, and more are featured on the recordings which include Mr. Burns, A Post-Electric Play.

Grace McLean, Heath Saunders, and Mary Testa

The final four albums of The Michael Friedman Collection drop March 24 from Ghostlight Records and investigative theatre company The Civilians. The collection honors the work of the late Obie-winning songwriter Michael Friedman with album recordings of nine musical by Friedman.

The collection's last installment will include Mr. Burns, A Post-Electric Play, Adventures in Reality, In the Footprint: The Battle for the Atlantic Yards, and Canard, Canard, Goose? All four works feature music and lyrics by Michael Friedman, except Mr. Burns which features lyrics by Anne Washburn and with additional orchestrations by Wiley DeWeese and Andrea Grody. Canard, Canard, Goose? was written by Steve Cosson and the company. The albums are available digitally and for streaming.

Performers for the new albums include Nick Blaemire, Cindy Cheung, Carla Duren, Jackie Hoffman, Jo Lampert, Lauren Molina, Dito van Reigersberg, Brian Charles Rooney, Heath Saunders, Mary Testa, Tony Torn, Alison Weller, and Ada Westfall for Adventures in Reality; Andrew Kober, Grace McLean, Jonathan Raviv, Maya Sharpe, Kristin Stokes, and Colleen Werthmann for Canard, Canard, Goose?; Andrew Kober, Grace McLean, Onyie Nwachukwu, Jonathan Raviv, Maya Sharpe, Kristin Stokes, Akron Watson, and Colleen Werthmann for In the Footprint; and Gibson Frazier, Rebecca Hart, Matthew Maher, Jennifer R. Morris, Maya Sharpe, Christina Sajous, Kristin Stokes, and Sam Breslin Wright for Mr. Burns.

Get a first listen of "Three Sisters" featuring Mary Testa below.

“Having a cast album available is essential to a musical’s enduring legacy and to inspire ongoing productions,” said Friedman’s collaborator Steve Cosson in a statement. “And now, thanks to these new recordings, Michael’s shows are part of the future—new people will inhabit them, give them their voices, and step into the wonderfully rich and idiosyncratic world that Michael’s music conjures.

The collection previously released albums for The Great Immensity, The Abominables, This Beautiful City, (I Am) Nobody's Lunch, and Paris Commune. Ghostlight previously recorded Friedman’s Broadway score to Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, The Fortress of Solitude, and Love’s Labour’s Lost at the Public Theater, as well as Unknown Soldier, Pretty Filthy, and Gone Missing with The Civilians.

Cosson and Kurt Deutsch produce the new albums, with Ghostlight Records and The Civilians serving as executive producers. Serving as co-producers for all four are Ian Kagey and DeWeese with the addition of Grody for Mr. Burns for which she is also music director. Adventures in Reality, Canard, Canard, Goose?, and In the Footprint feature orchestrations by DeWeese, who also serves as music director. Dan Lipton is co-music director for Adventures in Reality.

Friedman was a founding member of The Civilians, which will honor Ghostlight's Kurt Deutsch at its 2023 Spring Benefit. The event will be held April 3 at 6:30 PM at City Winery. The Civilians is currently Green Performance Space's 2023 Spring Artist-in-Residence.

For more information about The Michael Friedman Collection, visit

For more information about the benefit, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!