Dear Evan Hansen Announces Cast Recording | Playbill

News Dear Evan Hansen Announces Cast Recording Those who pre-order will get an advance track of “Waving Through a Window.”
The cast of Dear Evan Hansen Matthew Murphy

Atlantic Records and Dear Evan Hansen producer Stacey Mindich have announced that the original Broadway cast recording of Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, and Steven Levenson’s new musical Dear Evan Hansen will be released on Atlantic Records this winter. Following an acclaimed, sold-out run Off-Broadway, the Broadway transfer of Dear Evan Hansen began performances at the Music Box Theatre November 14.

Dear Evan Hansen

The album, which will be recorded next month, will be released digitally February 3, 2017; physical CDs will be available February 24. The cast recording will be available for pre-order beginning December 2, with an instant, free download of the song “Waving Through a Window” for those who purchase the album in advance.


“Producing the Hamilton cast album with Atlantic Records was the best experience I ever had making a record,” said Dear Evan Hansen music supervisor and orchestrator Alex Lacamoire, who is also one of the producers of the album, in a statement. “I’m beyond thrilled that they are adding another Broadway show to their catalog, especially one whose score is as brilliant as Dear Evan Hansen. My goal is to make this record sound as amazing as possible.”

The original musical, about one student's struggle for identity amidst the chaos of high school, features a score by the Tony and Emmy-nominated songwriting team of Pasek and Paul (Dogfight, A Christmas Story), a book by Obie Award winner Levenson (Masters of Sex), choreography by Danny Mefford (Fun Home), and direction by three-time Tony nominee Michael Greif (Rent, Next to Normal, If/Then). The Broadway production is set to officially open December 4.

The cast of Dear Evan Hansen includes Ben Platt, Laura Dreyfuss, Rachel Bay Jones, Jennifer Laura Thompson, Mike Faist, Michael Park, Will Roland and Kristolyn Lloyd, and Michael Lee Brown, Garrett Long, Olivia Puckett, Colton Ryan, and Asa Somers.

Watch the new music video for the song “Only Us” from Dear Evan Hansen, sung by Platt and Dreyfuss, which debuted earlier this week in celebration of the first preview on Broadway:

The Dear Evan Hansen cast recording will be produced by Atlantic Records, Lacamoire, Pasek, and Paul, and co-produced by the show’s producer, Mindich.

Tickets to the Broadway show can be ordered from or by calling (212) 239-6200. The Music Box Theatre box office is located at 239 West 45th Street, New York. For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!