Anna Zavelson, Jake Roxander, Frances Lorraine Samson Named 14th Annual Clive Barnes Award Winners | Playbill

Awards Anna Zavelson, Jake Roxander, Frances Lorraine Samson Named 14th Annual Clive Barnes Award Winners

The Clive & Valerie Barnes Foundation announced the winners at an April 29 ceremony.

Anna Zavelson, Jake Roxander, and Frances Samson

The Clive & Valerie Barnes Foundation has announced this year's winners for The Clive Barnes Award in Dance and Theatre. Awards were presented April 29 at Florence Gould Hall in an evening hosted by Frank DiLella.

Anna Zavelson, who made her NYC performance debut as Clara in the New York City Center Encores! revival of The Light in The Piazza, received the award for theatre. Zavelson was a 2022 Jimmy Awards finalist, and also appeared in NBC's Revolution and Netflix's 13 Reasons Why

Jake Roxander, an American Ballet Theatre soloist, and Frances Lorraine Samson, a former principal dancer with the Limón Dance Company and current Limón Institute faculty member, were honored in the dance category. The three winners will each receive an unrestricted award of $5,000. 

Theatre finalists also included Jordan Dobson (A Beautiful Noise), Liam Pearce (How to Dance in Ohio), and Lark White (The Covenant). Dance finalists included Michael de la Nuez and Mac Twining. Finalists were selected by an 11-member committee of arts journalists and industry professionals based on performances in New York City in 2023.

“It was fantastically fabulous to not only have our finalists and winners to celebrate, but also a terribly exciting program with some exquisite dance and acting from our celebrated alumni,” Lloyd Mayor, President of The Clive & Valerie Barnes Foundation, said in a statement. “I wish to tell anyone interested in participating or collaborating with our foundation to always feel free to contact us as we know the Clive & Valerie Barnes Foundation is an ever-expansive endeavor.”

The CBVF (formerly The Clive Barnes Foundation) was formed in 2009 in honor of the late dance and theatre critic Clive Barnes, who wrote for The New York Times and New York Post. The CVBF supports young artists through recognition, encouragement, and financial support. Past award winners include Isabella Boylston, Michaela Jaé Rodriguez, Rob McClure, Alex Sharp, Zoe Anderson, Andrew Burnap, Celia Rose Gooding, Mira Nadon, Justin Cooley, and Lorna Courtney.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!