Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, D’Arcy Carden, Jodie Comer, More Are 2023 Theatre World Award Winners | Playbill

Awards Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, D’Arcy Carden, Jodie Comer, More Are 2023 Theatre World Award Winners

Winners of the Dorothy Loudon Award and the special honorees have also been announced.

Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, D’Arcy Carden, and Jodie Comer

The 2023 Theatre World Award winners, celebrated for an Outstanding Debut Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production, have been announced and will be honored at an invitation-only ceremony June 5.

The 2023 Honorees include the following artists:
Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Topdog/Underdog
Hiran Abeysekera, Life of Pi
Amir Arison, The Kite Runner
D’Arcy Carden, The Thanksgiving Play
Jodie Comer, Prima Facie
Callum Francis, Kinky Boots
Lucy Freyer, The Wanderers
Caroline Innerbichler, Shucked
Ashley D. Kelley, Shucked
Casey Likes, Almost Famous
Emma Pfitzer Price, Becomes A Woman
John David Washington, The Piano Lesson

It was also announced that Funny Girl's Julie Benko will receive the 14th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater, while 2023 Special Award Honorees include Six's Marilyn Caserta for Outstanding Swing and Dale Badway for Outstanding Contribution to the theatre world. The Honoree for the 10th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre will be announced shortly.

The 77th Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony, at a venue to be announced, will be hosted by theatre journalist Peter Filichia and produced by Badway. Tom D’Angora and Michael D’Angora will direct with Michael Lavine as musical director.

The Theatre World Awards, founded by John Willis, were first presented in 1945. They are given annually to honor 12 significant debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The ceremony is a private event where previous winners serve as the presenters.

Named for the late, Tony-winning actor, the Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater honors an outstanding performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The John Willis Award is given for lifetime achievement in the theatre to honor the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 66 years.

The Theatre World Award honorees are chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee: Linda Armstrong (Amsterdam News), David Cote (The Observer), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Theatre Guide), Peter Filichia (Broadway Radio), David Finkle (New York Stage Review), Elysa Gardner (The New York Sun), Harry Haun (Observer.com), Cary Wong (The Interested Bystander), and Frank Scheck (New York Stage Review/ The Hollywood Reporter).

The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors is headed by Badway (President) with Tom Lynch (Vice-President), Michael Kostel (Vice-President), Stephen Wilde (Secretary), The Honorable Ilene Zatkin-Butler (Treasurer), James Sheridan, and Karen Johnston.

Visit TheatreWorldAwards.org.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!