Watch: 'Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head' in Yiddish With Julie Benko and Allyson Briggs | Playbill

Video Watch: 'Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head' in Yiddish With Julie Benko and Allyson Briggs

The duet is one of the tracks on Briggs' upcoming album of Burt Bacharach songs Promises, Prayers, and Raindrops.

Burt Bacharach and Hal David's "Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head" gets a Yiddish cover on Allyson Briggs' upcoming new album Promises, Prayers, and Raindrops: Allyson Briggs Sings Burt Bacharach. See the vocalist sing the tune with Broadway favorite Julie Benko (Funny GirlHarmony) above.

The full album releases July 12, as both a physical CD and on digital and streaming platforms. Pre-orders are available at

Promises, Prayers, and Raindrops includes Briggs' take on Bacharach-David classics like "I'll Never Fall in Love Again," "I Say a Little Prayer," "Walk On By," and more, along with some lesser-known tunes. Her recording of "My Rock and Foundation," written for a 1971 Peggy Lee album, is the first known recording of the tune since its premiere more than five decades ago. Briggs also sings "Uninvited Dream," a song written by Bacharach with lyricist Sammy Gallop for a 1957 Lee album.

“These are gems that I stumbled upon after paying tribute to Ms. Lee in a concert at Carnegie Hall with Michael Feinstein," says Briggs in a statement. "As you may know, Michael is an encyclopedia of long-lost musical treasures, and he inspired me to find a connection from Peggy to Burt. In my search, I discovered the uncharacteristically jazz standard-styled ‘Uninvited Dream.’ As I continued to hunt for Bacharach/Lee collaborations, I was intrigued by the unknown title ‘My Rock and Foundation.’ I even had to transcribe the lyrics myself because as of 2022, they were nowhere to be found online.”

Benko will be Briggs' special guest at her July 9 concert at Birdland, celebrating the album's release. Tickets are available here. The evening will also stream live, with those tickets available here.

Briggs is backed on the album by music director Andy Warren on trumpet, James Navan and Jason Yeager on piano, Michael O'Brien on bass, and Shareef Taher and Peter Traunmueller on drums. Warren, Yeager, O'Brien, and Traunmeller will be on hand for the July 9 Birdland concert.

See the full track list, with songs by Bacharach and David, except where noted, below: 

1. "Do You Know the Way to San Jose?"
2. "I’ll Never Fall in Love Again"
3. "Trop’ns Fin Regen Oif Mein Kop (Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head)"
4. "What the World Needs Now Is Love"
5. "One Less Bell to Answer"
6. "Anyone Who Had a Heart"
7. "Uninvited Dream" (Bacharach and Gallop)
8. "My Rock and Foundation"
9. "(There’s) Always Something There to Remind Me"
10. "Wenn Ich Mir Was Wünschen Dürfte" (Friedrich Holländer, arranged by Bacharach)
11. "Casino Royale"
12. "This Girl’s in Love with You"
13. "Promises, Promises"
14. "Walk on By"
15. "Alfie"
16. "(They Long to Be) Close to You"
17. "I Say a Little Prayer"
18. "The Look of Love"
19. "Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do)" (Christopher Cross, Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager, and Peter Allen)
20. "That’s What Friends Are For" (Bacharach, Bayer Sager)

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!