Volume 3 of Sondheim Unplugged Albums Sets November Release | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Volume 3 of Sondheim Unplugged Albums Sets November Release

The recording features performances from Danielle Ferland, Annie Golden, Claybourne Elder, Telly Leung, and more.

Stephen Sondheim

Yellow Sound Label will release Sondheim Unplugged: The NYC Sessions - Volume Three November 18. The album will be available for streaming, digital purchase, and as a two-disc CD set.

The album will feature performances from a host of Broadway favorites who originated roles in Sondheim musicals, including George Lee Andrews (A Little Night Music), Danielle Ferland (Into the Woods, Sunday in the Park with George), Joy Franz (Into the Woods), Annie Golden (Assassins), Teri Ralston (Company, A Little Night Music), Ken Jennings (Sweeney Todd), Pamela Winslow Kashani (Into the Woods), Pamela Myers (Company), Sarah Rice (Sweeney Todd), Melanie Vaughan (Sunday in the Park with George), and Jim Walton (Merrily We Roll Along).

Representing more recent Main Stem Broadway revivals will be A Little Night Music star Ramona MalloryCompany revival cast members Claybourne Elder, Nicholas Rodriguez, and Bruce SabathThe Frogs alum Eric Michael GillettPacific Overtures' Telly Leung; and current Into the Woods company member Lucia Spina.

The series, based on the popular concert series, aims to present songs from the late Tony-winning composer-lyricist's canon with simple and essential piano-only arrangements, letting the listener focus more on the words and music. The third entry includes some of Sondheim's most beloved songs, such as "Being Alive" and "Move On," along with lesser-known tunes from The Girls of Summer and The Frogs and songs cut from Company and Assassins. The album was recorded in studio throughout 2020 and 2021.

"On behalf of Yellow Sound Label, I am very proud to be concluding this definitive series exploring the work of Stephen Sondheim," says Executive Producer Michael Croiter. "I can’t think of a better way to move towards 2023 than to celebrate Sondheim’s legacy with these wonderful singers and this classic repertoire."

Sondheim Unplugged is created and hosted by Phil Geoffrey Bond, who produces this album. Music director Joseph Goodrich is featured on the piano.

The first volume of Sondheim Unplugged released December 1, 2021, and the second volume dropped March 22.

Take a look at the full track listing:

Disc One
1. "Opening Doors" – Harris Doran, Rob Maitner, Lucia Spina, Jim Walton, Sally Mayes and Kelli Rabke
2. "Hades" – Eric Michael Gillett
3. "Sorry/Grateful" – Jacob Hoffman
4. "I Know Things Now" – Michelle Dowdy
5. "It Takes Two" – Danielle Ferland and Jeff Blumenkrantz
6. "Loving You" – Karen Mason
7. "That Dirty Old Man" – Ramona Mallory
8. "Somewhere" – T. Oliver Reid
9. "Now You Know' – Donna Vivino
10. "Not While I’m Around" – Ken Jennings
11. "Gussie’s Opening Number'/'Growing Up" – Kate Loprest
12. "One More Kiss" – Sierra Rein and Sarah Rice
13. "Flag Song" – Claybourne Elder
14. "We Do Not Belong Together" – Victoria Cook and Aaron Ramey
15. "Another Hundred People" – Leenya Rideout
16. "No More" – Evan Harrington
17. "When" – Courter Simmons and Lisa Sabin
18. "Take the Moment" – Aaron Ramey
19. "A Little Priest" – Lucia Spina and Rob Maitner
20. "Lesson #8"/"Children & Art" – Scott Coulter
21. "Being Alive" – Brian Charles Rooney

Disc 2
1. "Everything’s Coming Up Roses" – Marta Sanders
2. "The Worst Pies in London" – Annie Golden
3. "Stay With Me" – Julie Reyburn
4. "All I Need Is the Girl" – Courter Simmons
5. "I Remember" / "Changing" – Liz McCartney
6. "Happily Ever After" – Bruce Sabath
7. "No One Is Alone" – Joy Franz
8. "Love, I Hear" – Telly Leung
9. "Our Little World" – Pamela Winslow Kashani
10. "So Many People" – Charlie Levy
11. "You’re Gonna Love Tomorrow" – Eric Michael Gillett and Melanie Vaughan
12. "What Can You Lose?" – Natalie Douglas
13. "Getting Married Today" – Teri Ralston and Aaron Ramey
14. "Fear No More" – George Lee Andrews
15. "Me & My Town" – Pamela Myers and Joseph Goodrich
16. "I Have a Love" – Jessica Hendy
17. "The Ballad of Booth" – John Treacy Egan and Harris Doran
18. "The Girls of Summer" – Gabrielle Stravelli
19. "Rose’s Turn" – Sally Mayes
20. "Move On' – Lucia Spina and Nicholas Rodriguez
21. "Sunday" – Marquee Five

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!