Video: Watch Highlights From Muny Dreamgirls, Starring Tiffany Mann, Aisha Jackson, Nick Rashad Burroughs | Playbill

Video Video: Watch Highlights From Muny Dreamgirls, Starring Tiffany Mann, Aisha Jackson, Nick Rashad Burroughs

Robert Clater directs the Tony-nominated musical at the outdoor regional theatre.

The Muny production of the hit, Tony-nominated musical Dreamgirls, which began performances June 27, continues through July 3 on the James S. McDonnell Stage in Forest Park, Missouri. Watch highlights from the opening night in the video above.

Robert Clater directs with choreography by Lesia Kaye and music direction by Anne Shuttlesworth.

The cast is led by Tiffany Mann as Effie Melody White, Aisha Jackson as Deena Jones, Courtnee Carter as Lorrell Robinson, Charl Brown as Curtis Taylor Jr., Nick Rashad Burroughs as James "Jimmy" Thunder Early, Ron Himes as Marty, Aramie Payton as C.C. White, Robby Clater as Wayne, and Natalie Kaye Clater as Michelle Morris.

The ensemble includes Travante S. Baker, Lamont Brown, Ian Campayno, Kylie Edwards, Lexie Faith, Julia Grondin, Sophia Hillman, Kennedy Holmes, Dan Horn, Gabriel Kearns, ZaKeyia Lacey, Nathaniel Mahone, Collin Milfort, Pershard Owens, Alanna Porter, Kayla Rush, Ranease Ryann, Owen Scales, Duncan Smith, TJ Staten, and Richard E. Waits. The company is joined by the Muny Teen Youth Ensemble.

St. Louis Mayor Tishaura Jones will have a walk-on role in the show’s second act June 29, June 30, and July 1.

Video: Listen to Tiffany Mann's Thrilling Riffs on 'One Night Only' in Rehearsal for Muny Dreamgirls

Dreamgirls, with a book and lyrics by Tom Eyen and music by Henry Krieger, was previously produced at The Muny in 2012.

Krieger and Eyen's Dreamgirls won six Tony Awards in its 1982 Broadway premiere. The late Michael Bennett took home the award for Best Choreography alongside collaborator Michael Peters. Jennifer Holliday memorably created the role of Effie to Tony-winning effect, stopping the show nightly with "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going." The 2006 film, adapted and directed by Bill Condon, earned Jennifer Hudson the Golden Globe and Academy Awards for her portrayal of Effie.

The Muny production also has associate choreography by Devin Tyler Hatch, scenic design by Edward E. Haynes, Jr., costume design by Leon Dobkowski, lighting design by Rob Denton, sound design by John Shivers and David Patridge, video design by Elaine McCarthy, wig design by Kelley Jordan, and production stage management by Michael J. Passaro.

The Telsey Office is the casting partner of The Muny.

The Muny artistic staff includes Artistic Director and Executive Producer Mike Isaacson and Associate Artistic Director Michael Baxter. The production manager is Tracy Utzmyers, and the music supervisor is Michael Horsley.

The 2024 summer season at The Muny also includes Disney’s The Little Mermaid (July 8-16), Fiddler on the Roof (July 19-25), Waitress (July 30-August 5), In the Heights (August 9-15), and Anything Goes (August 19-25).


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!