Soundtrack for John Cameron Mitchell’s Anthem: Homunculus Released May 20 | Playbill

New Recordings Soundtrack for John Cameron Mitchell’s Anthem: Homunculus Released May 20 The first season features over 30 original songs performed by Cynthia Erivo, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Marion Cotillard, Denis O’Hare, and more.

The soundtrack for John Cameron Mitchell’s new podcast Anthem: Homunculus is available for digital download May 20 from Ghostlight Records. The Hedwig creator and star appears on the soundtrack that also features cast members Cynthia Erivo, Glenn Close, Nakhane, Patti LuPone, Laurie Anderson, Marion Cotillard, and Denis O’Hare.

The soundtrack features 30 original songs by Bryan Weller and John Cameron Mitchell. Pre-orders, which begin today, provide immediate downloads of “Love You for Free,” “The End of Love,” “Homunculus,” “Second Glance,” and “I Exist.” Musical styles range from indie-rock and jazz, to R&B, folk, soul, country, baroque, dream pop, contemporary classical, and avant-garde.

Listen to Trailer for John Cameron Mitchell’s Musical Podcast Anthem: Homunculus

Anthem: Homunculus premiered April 23 on Luminary. The 10-episode series is produced by Topic.

“When John and I set out to start working on the story and music, the idea wasn’t to write in an episodic format,” Weller said in a statement. “But as the story grew in magnitude, so did the scope of the music, with it being clear that all these different characters in this world would have their own sound. So the songs came to make up an eclectic, expressive world of contrasts and variety all their own. The real songwriting began right after the presidential election of 2016, so while this informed many aspects of the narrative, much of the lyrical content and musical tone also reflect this. There’s anger and fear, but also resolution and defiance, and ultimately hope.”

The track listing follows:

1 – Homunculus
2 – Gog & Demagogue
3 – Bend You to the Left
4 – Toy Train
5 – State Road
6 – The End of Love
7 – Everybody Look
8 – What’s So Wrong with That?
9 – Second Chance
10 – If You Were Born
11 – I See What I Am
12 – Love You for Free
13 – The Cloud of Unknowing (Joan)
14 – Nobody Blink
15 – The New Messiah
16 – Hymn to Life
17 – I Exist
18 – Philosopher’s Stone
19 – Dissolve Me
20 – Duet with America
21 – Father Angus’ Theme
22 – Metaphor
23 – Prayer of the Mandrake
24 – Unborn/Unsound
25 – The Cloud of Unknowing (Jairo)
26 – Jairo’s Theme, Part 1
27 – The Quiet Savoir
28 – Solar Mass
29 – The Unnameable
30 – Move from Me
31 – The End of Love (Reprise)

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!