See Who Won the 2024 Write Out Loud Competition | Playbill

Education News See Who Won the 2024 Write Out Loud Competition

Tony nominee Taylor Louderman and Ben Rauhala created the contest to uplift emerging musical theatre songwriters.

Taylor Louderman

Co-founders Taylor Louderman (Mean Girls) and Ben Rauhala have revealed the winners of the 2024 Write Out Loud contest. Celebrating emerging musical theatre writers and their original work, 2024 marked the sixth annual competition.

This year's four winning songs include “California” by Ally Cribb, “Necromancy” by Wren Mied, “Self-Portrait” by José Alba rodríguez and Yejune Kim, and “Fade Away” by William Shishmanian and Brooke Trumm.

The winning songs will be recorded by a Broadway alum and released on iTunes, Apple Music, and Spotify. The winning writers will also be joined by a group of finalists for a 54 Below concert in September.

Finalist songs to be showcased at the 54 Below concert include "Things Will Be Ok!" by Gabrielle Ammirato, Yen Nien Hsu, and Rona Moriah; "Totally Rock" by Utsav Bhargava and Meredith Brandt; "When I Look at the Stars" by Maxwell Carmel and Miles Walter; "Storm Chaser" by Maggie Marie Rodgers and Dillon Feldman; "Happiness" by Matt Gittins; "Start This Car" by Danielle Koenig and Raiah Rofsky; "Bad for Me" (from Ten Year) by Wesley King; "Shouldn't Keep A Good Man Down" by Jack Scott-Walker; and "Take a Picture" by Akira Sky.

Past winners have included India Angel, Ethan Carlson, Matt Copley, Taylor Fagins, Chloe Geller, Anna M Johnson, Joriah Kwamé, Brandon Michael Lowden, Kailey Marshall, Natalie Myrick, Alexander Sage Oyen, Matt Pena, Kat Siciliano, Emmet Smith, Mackenzie Szabo, and Elyza Tuan.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!