See New York Theatre's Familiar Faces Walk a Blooming Red Carpet at the Obie Awards | Playbill

Photo Features See New York Theatre's Familiar Faces Walk a Blooming Red Carpet at the Obie Awards

Lucille Lortel winner Crystal Lucas-Perry hosted the ceremony honoring Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway work.

Crystal-Lucas Perry Jenny Anderson

Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway's big night out kicked off with a flower-filled red carpet earlier this week, and the photos are in! Presented by the American Theatre Wing, the 66th Obie Awards were held at Terminal 5 February 27. Honoring Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway artistry, the awards recognized notable work from over 400 productions across the 2020-2022 seasons. Lucille Lortel Award-winning actor Crystal Lucas-Perry hosted the ceremony.

Among the night's winners was Sanaz Toossi's English, presented by Atlantic Theater Company and Roundabout Theatre Company. It received the award for Best New American Play, and its lighting designer Reza Behjat was also recognized. The creative team and ensemble were also honored with a Special Citation.

Hadi Tabbal, Knud Adams, Sanaz Toosis, Marjan Neshat, Tala Ashe, Pooya Mohseni and Ava Lalezarzadeh Jenny Anderson

Several artists associated with the Public Theater production of Fat Ham, soon to open at Broadway's American Airlines Theatre, were also honored, with director Saheem Ali receiving the Sustained Achievement in Directing Award and Billy Eugene Jones receiving the Sustained Achievement in Performance Award. Ali is celebrated for his work on Fat Ham as well as his direction of Nollywood Dreams, Merry Wives, and Romeo y Julieta. Jones is recognized for his performance in Fat Ham and On Sugarland.

READ: Fat Ham Invites You to Talk Back and Get Up at a Southern Cookout

The creative team and ensemble of Fat Ham also received a Special Citation. Those honored include playwright James Ijames, director Ali, set designer Maruti Evans costume designer Dominique Fawn Hill, lighting designer Stacey Derosier, sound designer Mikaal Sulaiman, choreographer Darrell Grand Moultrie, hair and wig designer Earon Chew Nealey, illusions designer Skylar Fox, and ensemble members Nikki Crawford, Chris Herbie Holland, Jones, Adrianna Mitchell, Calvin Leon Smith, Marcel Spears, and Benja Kay Thomas.

Adrianna Mitchell, Benja Kay Thomas, James Ijames, Chris Herbie Holland, Nikki Crawford, Calvin Leon Smith and Billy Eugene Jones Jenny Anderson

Composer Shaina Taub and director Laurie Woolery received a Special Citation for their collaboration on the Public's adaptation of As You Like It, and Kara Young received a Performance Award for Twelfth Night at the Classical Theatre Harlem.

READ: Kara Young Brought Her Harlem Roots to Twelfth Night, And Won an Obie For It

Taylor Reynolds was also recognized for her work directing John J. Caswell, Jr.'s Man Cave and Dave HarrisTambo & Bones (two satires she spoke to Playbill about in an interview last year.) Check out the full list of winners here.

“We are beyond thrilled to announce the 37 awards selected by the Obie judges to be celebrated at the 66th Obie Awards on Monday evening. For this Obies, the judges reviewed over 400 productions over the last three seasons including digital and audio works made during the pandemic. We look forward to finally gathering in person to celebrate the artistic excellence and resilience of the amazing artists and theatre companies that make up the Off- and Off-Off- Broadway community,” says Wing President and CEO Heather Hitchens.

The 2023 awards are co-chaired by Obie-winning director and producing artistic leader David Mendizábal and theatre critic Melissa Rose Bernardo. The judges’ panel includes actor and fight choreographer Dave Anzuelo, scenic designer Wilson Chin, Obie-winning playwright Haruna Lee, Obie-winning director and playwright Lisa Peterson, and Obie-winning actor Heather Alicia Simms.

For tickets and other information, visit

Take a Look at the Red Carpet of the 2023 Obie Awards

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!