Predict the Winners! Busch, Nadler, Sullivan and The Skivvies Among Nominees for Tonight's MAC Awards | Playbill

News Predict the Winners! Busch, Nadler, Sullivan and The Skivvies Among Nominees for Tonight's MAC Awards Charles Busch, Mark Nadler, Hedda Lettuce, The Skivvies, KT Sullivan and Jeff Harnar are among nightclub acts nominated for the 29th Annual MAC Awards, being given March 26 to recognize outstanding achievement in the world of New York cabaret.

Karen Mason hosts the 2015 awards ceremony, scheduled for 7:30 PM at B.B King Blues Club & Grill in New York.

Among the awards announced in advance by the Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs are Lifetime Achievement Awards to Steve Ross and Baby Jane Dexter. David Kenney of WBAI-FM will get the Board of Directors Award. Among past honorees are for its service to the world of cabaret.

Tickets to the MAC Awards show are available to the general public at

The nominations follow:

Female Vocalist
Peggy Eason, As I See It; I'll Show Them All
Shana Farr, In The Still Of The Night
Kim Grogg, Go Where The Love Is
Maxine Linehan, Beautiful Songs
Gabrielle Stravelli
Susan Winter, A Woman For All Seasons Male Vocalist
Richard Holbrook, The Untapped Fred Astaire Revisited, Christmas In New York
Stearns Matthews, Sneak Peek; Spark
Adam B. Shapiro, Nothing Normal; My Favorite Things
Jim Speake, I'm A Brass Band – Jim Speake Sings Cy Coleman

Major Artist
Eric Michael Gillett, Man About Town
Marissa Mulder, Living Standards
Stacy Sullivan, On The Air: Songs For Marian McPartland

Celebrity Artist
Charles Busch, Untitled Show; Charles Busch On Nye
Barb Jungr, Hard Rain
Sharon Mcnight, Red Hot Mama – The Sophie Tucker Farewell Tour
Mark Nadler, Runnin' Wild: Songs and Scandals Of The Roaring 20's

New York Debut – Female
Celia Berk, You Can't Rush Spring
Rain Collazo, The Artist Formerly Known As
Jamie Hartman, Dreams and Schemes
Lauren Stanford, I'm A Stranger Here Myself

New York Debut – Male
Joshua Dixon, Fly Up!
Bernard Dotson, Live At The Metropolitan Room
Kristoffer Lowe, Waiting For the Light to Shine

Musical Comedy Performer
Ivan Farkas, Prisoner Of Love
Nikki Maccallum, Familiar Things
Richard Pryor, Jr., Life, Love and A Little Laughter

Impersonation/Characterization/Drag Artist
Dorothy Bishop, Dozen Divas
Hedda Lettuce, Christmas Special
Rev Roger Anthony Yolanda Mapes, Be The Love
Jinkx Monsoon, The Inevitable Concert

Eric Comstock and Barbara Fasano
Ted Stafford and Lorinda Lisitza, The Ted and Lo Show: This May Hurt A Bit
KT Sullivan and Jeff Harnar, Our Time: Sullivan and Harnar Sing Sondheim

Dirty Little Songs, Produced by Carolyn Montgomery-Forant and Eric Michael Gillett
Revolution, Produced by and Starring Dawn Derow and Kathleen France, Musical Direction and Arrangements by Andrew David Sotomayor, Directed by Lennie Watts
Shows To Go Ya and Other Songs by Bobbie Horowitz, Produced by Nicori Studios,
Directed by Corinna Sowers Adler, Songs Written Or Co-Written by Bobbie Horowitz

Recurring Series
The Dana Lorge Variety Show, Produced by Dana Lorge
NY Sheet Music Society Programs, Produced by Linda Amiel Burns
Salon, Tanya Moberly, Executive Producer, Mark Janas, Founder, Artistic Director, Host
Etcetera, Etcetera

Special Production
Dancing With Death, Produced by Thomas Honeck and Lisa Moss, Directed by Lisa Moss,
Starring Thomas Honeck
Metrostar Talent Challenge, Produced by Bernie Furshpan, Joseph Macchia, Tom
Gamblin, Beck Lee
This Is Your Night, Produced by Bernie Furshpan

Emcee – Recurring Series/Special Production
Bernie Furshpan, This Is Your Night; Bernie's Sing Your Heart Out
Tom Gamblin, Metrostar Talent Challenge
Dana Lorge, The Dana Lorge Variety Show

Ensemble Instrumentalist
Peter Calo, Guitar
Tom Hubbard, Bass
Donna Kelly, Drums and Percussion
Ray Marchica, Drums
Matt Scharfglass, Bass
Warren Vaché, Cornet

Piano Bar Instrumentalist
Nate Buccieri (Don't Tell Mama, The Duplex)
Gerry Dieffenbach (Don't Tell Mama, The Duplex)
William Tn Hall (Don't Tell Mama, The Duplex)
Brian Nash (The Duplex)
Joe Regan (Don't Tell Mama)

Restaurant/Hotel Lounge Instrumentalist
Matt Baker (Le Cirque Café)
Chris Barrett (La Rivista)
Claire Cooper (Don't Tell Mama Happy Hour)
Steven Lowenthal (La Rivista, Town House, Room 53)
Bill Zeffiro (La Mediterranée)

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer – Female
Elaine Brier (Don't Tell Mama)
Maria Gentile (The Duplex)
Lauren Mufson (Brandy's)
Laura Pavles (Don't Tell Mama)
Heidi Weyhmueller (Don't Tell Mama, Brandy's)

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer – Male
Joe Ardizzone (Brandy's)
Bobby Belfry (Brandy's)
Adam Chandler (The Duplex)
Tommy J. Dose (Don't Tell Mama)
Jon Satrom (Don't Tell Mama)

Musical Director
Rick Jensen – Man About Town/Eric Michael Gillett, Doris Dean's Gurl Talk/Raymond DeForest, Sarah Kimball, Dorian Woodruff, Kai Williams
Barry Levitt – Dana Lorge Variety Show, Susan Jeffries, Sunny Leigh, Joey Infante, Winter Rhythms: Barry's Girls
Tracy Stark – Barb Jungr, Marcus Simeone, MetroStar Talent Challenge, The Meeting*, Bret Shuford
Steven Ray Watkins – Joshua Dixon, Rain Collazo, Kim Grogg, Carly
Ozard, Jim Speake

Eric Michael Gillett – A Tribute to Adolph Green, Mandy Gonzalez, Marieann Meringolo, Lauren Stanford, The Amanda McBroom Project
Lisa Moss – Dancing With Death/Thomas Honeck, 2014 Duplex Gala, From Book To
, Joe Baccan, Mark Steven Wellen
Peter Napolitano – Adam B. Shapiro, Minda Larsen, Remembering Elaine Stritch, Winter Rhythms Holiday/Disney Closing Concert
(Urban Stages)

Technical Director
Adam Decarlo – Bret Shuford/Charming: A Tale Of An American Prince, Angela Shultz/Reality Check, Richard Holbrook/Untapped Fred Astaire
Jason Ellis –
Amy Beth Williams/Crazy To Love You, Marnie Klar,/Home, Kim Sutton/Anchors Away
Jean-Pierre Perreaux – Sharon Mcnight/Sophie Tucker's Farewell Tour, Stacy Sullivan/Peggy's Back, Marilyn Maye/Marilyn By Request
Ted Stafford – Chrysten Peddie/Too Darn Tall, Marieann Meringolo/Crazy Love, Joyce Breach/Moments Like This (Don't Tell Mama)
K.J. Hardy (Lights), Amanda Raymond (Sound) – Mark Nadler/Runnin' Wild: Songs Of The Roaring 20s, Marilyn Maye/Marilyn Salutes Johnny Carson, Paulo Szot

Recording (Lamott Friedman Award)
Celia Berk "You Can't Rush Spring"
Maxine Linehan "An American Journey"
Karen Oberlin and Sean Harkness "A Wish"
Stearns Matthews "Spark"
Bob Mundy "Something Beautiful"

"Advice To A Young Firefly"
"Central Park In Spring"
"Save Me The Rose"
"A Song To Come Home To"

Comedy/Novelty Song
"The Brit Song"
"Don't Turn 13"
"Just A Word"
"Savin' It"
"She Tells Me"

Show Of The Year
The 54 Sings Series, Created by Phil Geoffrey Bond, Produced by 54 Below
Red Hot Mama – The Sophie Tucker Farewell Tour, Conceived by and Starring
Sharon Mcnight, Musical Direction by Ian Herman
Runnin' Wild: Songs and Scandals Of The Roaring 20's, Created by and Starring
Mark Nadler
Shades Of Blue, Created by Carole J. Bufford and Scott Siegel, Starring Carole J. Bufford, Musical Direction by Ian Herman
The Skivvies, Created by and Starring Nick Cearley and Lauren Molina

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!