Nominees Announced for 7th Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards | Playbill

Off-Broadway News Nominees Announced for 7th Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards Paula Vogel, Harvey Fierstein, and Estelle Parsons are among the Legend of Off Broadway Awards recipients.

The Off Broadway Alliance, the organization of Off-Broadway producers, theatres, general managers, press agents, and marketing professionals, has announced the nominees for the 7th Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards. The awards honor commercial and not-for-profit productions that opened Off-Broadway during the 2016-2017 season.

Awards are presented in seven competitive categories: Best New Musical, Best New Play, Best Musical Revival, Best Play Revival, Best Unique Theatrical Experience, Best Solo Performance, and Best Family Show. Winners are selected by secret ballot by members of the awards committee of the Off Broadway Alliance and will be announced May 16.

In addition to the competitive awards, there are six recipients of this year's Off Broadway Alliance Legend of Off Broadway Award: Harvey Fierstein, Athol Fugard, Israel Horovitz, Charlotte Moore, Estelle Parsons, and Paula Vogel. The 2017 Off Broadway Alliance Hall of Fame Award will be presented posthumously to Signature Theatre founder James Houghton.

A complete list of nominees follows.

Best New Musical
The Band’s Visit
Ernest Shackleton Loves Me
Othello: The Remix
The View UpStairs

Best New Play
Church and State
Daniel’s Husband
Skeleton Crew
Small Mouth Sounds
The Wolves

Best Musical Revival
Finian’s Rainbow
The Golden Bride
Pacific Overtures
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
Sweet Charity

Best Play Revival
The Death of the Last Black Man in the Whole Entire World AKA the Negro Book of the Dead
The Emperor Jones
The Hairy Ape

Best Unique Theatrical Experience
Her Opponent
Taylor Mac – A 24-Decade History of Popular Music
Vanity Fair

Best Solo Performance
Chris Gethard, Career Suicide
Marin Ireland, On the Exhale
Sarah Jones, Sell/Buy/Date
Joe Morton, Turn Me Loose
Anna Deveare Smith, Notes From the Field

Best Family Show
1001 Nights: A Love Story About Loving Stories
The Commedia Cinderella
Love That Dog
Pip's Island
Wonderland: Alice's Rock & Roll Adventure

Legend of Off Broadway Honorees
Harvey Fierstein
Athol Fugard
Israel Horovitz
Charlotte Moore
Estelle Parsons
Paula Vogel

Hall of Fame Award
James Houghton

The Off Broadway Alliance is a non-profit corporation organized by theatre professionals dedicated to “supporting, promoting and encouraging the production of Off Broadway theater and to making live theater increasingly accessible to new and diverse audiences.”
For more information, visit


Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!