Noma Dumezweni, Hailey Kilgore, and Ethan Slater Among 2018 Theatre World Award Honorees | Playbill

Awards Noma Dumezweni, Hailey Kilgore, and Ethan Slater Among 2018 Theatre World Award Honorees Winners will be celebrated June 4 in a ceremony at Circle in the Square Theatre.
Noma Dumezweni, Hailey Kilgore, and Ethan Slater

The 2018 Theatre World Award Honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance were announced May 8. The honorees follow:

Jamie Brewer Joe Seer / Shutterstock, Inc.

Anthony Boyle, Harry Potter and The Cursed Child
Jamie Brewer, Amy and the Orphans
Noma Dumezweni, Harry Potter and The Cursed Child
Johnny Flynn, Hangmen
Denise Gough, Angels in America
Harry Hadden-Paton, My Fair Lady
Hailey Kilgore, Once on This Island
James McArdle, Angels in America
Lauren Ridloff, Children of a Lesser God
Ethan Slater, SpongeBob SquarePants
Charlie Stemp, Hello, Dolly!
Katy Sullivan, Cost of Living

The honorees will be celebrated at the 74th Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony June 4 at 2 PM at Circle in the Square. Hosted by theatre journalist Peter Filichia, the afternoon will be directed by Stephen Nachamie.

Theatre World Award alum Victor Garber (Hello, Dolly!) will receive the 6th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre, celebrating his 46th year on the Broadway stage.


First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards, founded by John Willis, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances. The awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production.

The Theatre World Award winners were chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee: Roma Torre (NY1), David Cote (Time Out New York, Emeritus), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus) Harry Haun (The Observer), Elysa Gardner (USA Today, Emeritus), and Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter).

The 10th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater honoree will be announced shortly.

See Cobie Smulders, Glenn Close, Eva Noblezada, and More at the 2017 Theatre World Awards

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!