Newly Expanded Segal Awards Presented at Lincoln Center Tonight; Audra McDonald Hosts | Playbill

News Newly Expanded Segal Awards Presented at Lincoln Center Tonight; Audra McDonald Hosts Audra McDonald, who recently won her sixth Tony Award for her performance in Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill, hosts the Martin E. Segal Awards, which are presented March 2 at Alice Tully Hall.

The newly expanded awards now include nominees from all of Lincoln Center’s resident organizations. Each honoree receives $7,500 to be used for career advancement and future study.

Audra McDonald Photo by Autumn de Wilde

The 11 2015 Martin E. Segal winners are pianist Inon Barnatan (nominated by The New York Philharmonic); actor Sheldon Best (Lincoln Center Theater); soprano Julia Bullock (The Juilliard School); Escher String Quartet (Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center); soprano Ying Fang (The Metropolitan Opera); dancer Silas Farley (New York Public Library for the Performing Arts); dancer Alec Knight (School of American Ballet); dancer Claire Kretzschmar (New York City Ballet); filmmaker Matías Piñeiro (Film Society of Lincoln Center); musician Camille Thurman (Jazz at Lincoln Center); and pianist Shai Wosner (Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts).

"Marty Segal would be so pleased to recognize these highly deserving artists with this distinguished, namesake award," Lincoln Center president Jed Bernstein said in a previous statement. "His record of support for the arts and the extraordinary work he did for Lincoln Center will never be duplicated. For many years we were blessed by his energy, guidance, generosity, and leadership. With the expanded Martin E. Segal Awards this year, we are building on his desire to recognize and encourage artistic excellence."

The presenters are Jason Robert Brown (The Last Five Years, Parade), Mostly Mozart Festival's Renée and Robert Belfer, music director Louis Langrée and dancers Tiler Peck (Little Dancer) and Robert Fairchild (An American in Paris).

Named after the late philanthropist and arts leader retired as Lincoln Center Chairman, the awards were established in 1986. Visit for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!