Grace McLean, Zeniba Now, and Kit Mee Kuen Yan Among 2021 Jonathan Larson Grant Recipients | Playbill

Awards Grace McLean, Zeniba Now, and Kit Mee Kuen Yan Among 2021 Jonathan Larson Grant Recipients

The writing teams of Shayok Misha Chowdhury and Laura Grill Jaye and The Lazours were also awarded grants for early-career musical theatre writers.

Kit Mee Kuen Yan, Zeniba Now, Grace McLean, The Lazours, Laura Grill Jaye, and Shayok Misha Chowdhury

The American Theatre Wing has named the recipients of the 2021 Jonathan Larson Grant, awarded annually to early-career musical theatre composers, lyricists, and librettists, or writing teams. Each grant carries with it an unrestricted $10,000 prize as well as additional support in the form of residencies, concerts and recording grants.

The 2021 grant winners are Grace McLean, awarded for music and lyric writing; Zeniba Now and Kit Mee Kuen Yan, both awarded for for lyrics and book; and the teams of Shayok Misha Chowdhury and Laura Grill Jaye and The Lazours, both awarded for music, lyrics, and book. 

“Each year, the Jonathan Larson Grants are a reminder of the hundreds of tenacious theatre-makers waiting for the right opportunity to be seen and recognized. By saying ‘Yes’ to artists such as these five deserving recipients, we honor Jonathan’s legacy by supporting what’s new and next in musical theatre,” said American Theatre Wing President and CEO Heather Hitchens.

This year's recipients were chosen by a panel of judges including composer-lyricist-playwright and 2016 Larson Grant recipient César Alvarez, partner talent agent at ICM Partners Di Glazer, Tony- and Grammy-winning producer Mara Isaacs (Hadestown, The Inheritance), and Obie and Lily Award-winning director-writer-musician Whitney White (Our Dear Dead Drug Lord, What to Send Up When it Goes Down).

A presentation honoring the 2021 recipients will be announced at a later date. This ceremony will also celebrate 2020 recipients The Bengsons, Anna K. Jacobs, Rona Siddiqui, and Benjamin Velez, as the 2020 presentation was postponed due to the ongoing pandemic. The event will feature performances of the recipients’ work.

Previous grant recipients include Shaina Taub (The Devil Wears Prada), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen, Dog Fight), Dave Malloy (The Great Comet), Amanda Green (Mr. Saturday Night, Hands on a Hardbody), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), and Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop).

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!