Donna Murphy, Stephen McKinley Henderson, William Finn, More Among 2024 Theater Hall of Fame Inductees | Playbill

Awards Donna Murphy, Stephen McKinley Henderson, William Finn, More Among 2024 Theater Hall of Fame Inductees

The 53rd anniversary induction ceremony will be held in November at the Gershwin Theatre.

Donna Murphy, Stephen McKinley Henderson, and William Finn

The Theater Hall of Fame Inc. has announced its 2024 inductees: actors Elizabeth Ashley (Take Her, She's Mine; Cat on a Hot Tin Roof), Boyd Gaines (GypsyThe Heidi Chronicles), Stephen McKinley Henderson (Between Riverside and Crazy, Fences), and Donna Murphy (Passion, The King and I); actor and playwright Charles Busch (The Tale of the Allergist's Wife, Taboo); composer William Finn (Falsettos, A New Brain); playwright David Rabe (Sticks and Bones, Hurlyburly); and, posthumously, producer Todd Haimes, the late artistic director of the Roundabout Theatre Company.

The 53rd annual Theater Hall of Fame for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater induction ceremony will be held November 18 at Broadway's Gershwin Theatre. The evening's host and presenters will be announced at a later date.

The Theater Hall of Fame—founded in 1970 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, and Gerard Oestreicher—honors eight theatre professionals annually for lifetime achievement. To be eligible for nomination, the theatre professional must have at least 25 years in the American theatre or be a leader of Off-Broadway or a regional theatre pioneer. The more-than-200 voters are past Hall of Fame inductees as well as members of the American Theater Critics Association.

The 2023 inductees included actors Mandy Patinkin, Bebe Neuwirth, Judd Hirsch, and Laurie Metcalf; director JoAnne Akalaitis; librettist John Weidman; composer Maury Yeston; and, posthumously, playwright Amiri Baraka.

Terry Hodge Taylor produces the annual invitation-only event.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!