Don Juan In Hell, The God Projekt, Allegro and More Honored at NYIT Awards | Playbill

News Don Juan In Hell, The God Projekt, Allegro and More Honored at NYIT Awards The New York Innovative Theatre Foundation, which celebrates Off-Off-Broadway, presented its annual awards Sept. 22 at Mason Hall at the Baruch Performing Arts Center.

The 2014 nominees included 130 individual artists, 58 different productions and 57 Off-Off-Broadway theatre companies.

Hosted by Jason Kravits ("The Practice"), presenters included Tracee Chimo (Bad Jews, "Orange is the New Black"), Laurence O'Keefe (Legally Blonde, Heathers: The Musical), Mariah MacCarthy (Executive Artistic Director of Caps Lock Theatre), Craig Lucas (Prelude to a Kiss, The Light in the Piazza), Andre De Shields (Ain't Misbehavin', The Wiz), Paul Kieve (Side Show, Pippin), Stephen Cabral (director of TDF's Costume Collection), Jen Schriever (A Raisin in the Sun), Andy Lang (sound designer and composer), Jim Rado (Hair), Elizabeth A. Davis (Once), Terry Schreiber (director and founder of the T. Schreiber Studio), Jennifer Conley Darling (producing artistic director of terraNOVA Collective), Robert Gore (member of the New York Innovative Theatre Awards Honorary Awards Committee), Marshall Mason (one of the original Off-Off-Broadway directors and founding artistic director of Circle Repertory Company), Omar Sangare (United Solo Theatre Festival), Tim McMath (Violet), Arthur Aviles (choreographer), Meghan Finn (director) and Dan Markley (Irving Berlin's White Christmas).

Outstanding Ensemble went to Broken Box Mime Theater's At First Sight (and Other Stories), which includes Becky Baumwoll, Dinah Berkeley, Seikai Ishizuka, David Jenkins, Meera Kumbhani, Tasha Milkman, Marissa Molnar, Dan Reckart, Joe Tuttle and Leah Wagner. Sandy Moore won Outstanding Solo Performance for The Simple Stories at WorkShop Theater Company. Outstanding Actor in a Featured Role went to Noel Joseph Allain for Luft Gangster at Nylon Fusion Collective. Jenny Seastone won Outstanding Actress in a Featured Role for Kid Brooklyn Productions and Mermaid Sands Productions' The Gin Baby, and Jason O'Connell won Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role for Phoenix Theatre Ensemble's Don Juan In Hell. Heather E. Cunningham won Outstanding Actress in a Lead Role for An Appeal to the Woman of the House at Retro Productions.

Carlos Neto won Outstanding Choreography/Movement for Gymnos: A Geek's Tragedy at Ticket 2 Eternity Productions. Outstanding Director went to DeLisa M. White for Teatro Oscuro's Lights Narrow, and Outstanding Lighting Design went to Kia Rogers for Jane the Plain at Flux Theatre Ensemble. Gail Cooper-Hecht won Outstanding Costume Design for Take Wing And Soar Productions, Inc.'s The Importance of Being Earnest, and Travis McHale won Outstanding Set Design for Rubber Ducks and Sun00sets at Ground Up Productions. Outstanding Sound Design went to Christian Frederickson for The Awake at kef theatrical productions. Nicole Hill won Outstanding Innovative Design for Puppet Design for Mute at New York Neo-Futurists. Scott Munson won Outstanding Original Music for Days of the Giants LLC's Sawbones & the Diamond Eater.

Outstanding Original Short Script went to Lenore Wolf for April March, Fragments from an Unintegrated Life from East Side Stories: Movers at Metropolitan Playhouse, and Outstanding Original Full-length Script went to David Stallings for Dark Water at Manhattan Theatre W0orks (MTWorks). La MaMa in association with Lone Wolf Tribe's The God Projekt won Outstanding Performance Art Production, and Allegro at Astoria Performing Arts Center won Outstanding Production of a Musical. Theatre 167's Pirira won Outstanding Premiere Production of A Play, while Phoenix Theatre Ensemble's Don Juan In Hell won Outstanding Revival of A Play. Special awards were presented in the following categories:
Artistic Achievement Award: Dan Bianchi (RadioTheatre)
Ellen Stewart Award: Woodie King, Jr. (New Federal Theatre)
Caffé Cino Fellowship Award: Blessed Unrest
Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award: Kevin R. Free (The Fantasticks)
Outstanding Stage Manager: Haejin Han (Don Juan in Hell, Phoenix Theatre Ensemble)

More information is available by visiting

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!