Darren Criss Will Host Celebration of Broadway JR Musicals, Featuring Students From Around NYC | Playbill

News Darren Criss Will Host Celebration of Broadway JR Musicals, Featuring Students From Around NYC The 10th Anniversary celebration of The Shubert Foundation/Music Theatre International arts education program, Broadway Junior, will take place May 19 at 10:30 AM at Broadway's Imperial Theatre. Hedwig and the Angry Inch star Darren Criss will host.

Students from Brooklyn, Bronx, Queens and Manhattan will perform song-and-dance numbers from their school versions of Broadway musicals. The shows include Into the Woods JR, Disney's Aladdin JR, Fame JR, Annie JR, Hairspray JR and Schoolhouse Rock Live JR.

The Shubert/MTI Broadway Junior Program is described as "a groundbreaking musical theatre mentorship program that builds self-sustaining theatre programs in public schools that have limited arts programming."

See Darren Criss Take His Emotional First Bow in Broadway's Hedwig and the Angry Inch!

The program is sponsored by The Shubert Foundation, Music Theatre International (MTI) and the New York City Department of Education (NYCDOE).

At the May 19 event, New York City Department of Education chancellor Carmen Fariña and MTI chairman and CEO Freddie Gershon will offer welcoming remarks. Shubert Organization president Robert E. Wankel will introduce Shubert Foundation president Michael I. Sovern, who will then introduce host Criss.

In attendance at the Broadway Junior event will be Philip J. Smith, chairman of the Shubert Organization; members of chancellor Fariña's cabinet from the Department of Education; prominent NYC arts educators; and leading members of New York's professional theatre community. The 2015 Broadway Junior 10th anniversary celebration will present performances from middle school groups participating in the second and third year of the program. They include Peter Pan JR (Collaborative Arts Middle School), Disney's Aladdin JR (College Avenue Academy), Disney's Beauty and the Beast JR (Gateway Intermediate School I.S. 364), Into the Woods JR (Math and Science Exploratory School), School House Rock Live JR (PEACE Academy), Disney's Beauty and the Beast JR (Spring Creek Community School), Dear Edwina JR (Queens Children's Psychiatric Center), Annie JR (East New York Middle School of Excellence), Fame JR (Lyons Community School), Hairspray JR (Global Technology Preparatory), Annie JR (New Heights Middle School), Disney's Aladdin JR (Thurgood Marshall Academy for Learning and Social Change) and Fame JR (Jean Nuzzi IS 109).

The Shubert Musical Theatre Ensemble will be made up of students from the following schools: Dr. Gladstone H. Atwell M.S. 61, Soundview Academy for Culture and Scholarship, Carroll Gardens School for Innovation, Scholar's Academy, Catherine & Count Basie Middle School 72, P94M The Spectrum School, Edward Bleeker JHS 185, PS 241 STEM, Ron Brown Academy and PS/MS 004 Crotona Park West.

Fore more information and a list to all current participating NYC public schools and their boroughs, click here

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!