Christie Baugher, Paris Ray Dozier, and Jaime Lozano are 2022 Jonathan Larson Grant Winners | Playbill

Industry News Christie Baugher, Paris Ray Dozier, and Jaime Lozano are 2022 Jonathan Larson Grant Winners

Each of the musical theatre writers will receive a $15,000 grant, in addition to residencies, concerts, and recording grants.

Christie Baugher, Paris Ray Dozier, and Jaime Lozano

The American Theatre Wing has chosen the recipients of the 2022 Jonathan Larson Grant. Awarded annually, the grant recognizes early career musical theatre composers, lyricists, and librettists, or writing teams.

The 2022 grant winners are Christie Baugher, awarded for music, lyric, and book writing; Paris Ray Dozier, awarded for music and lyrics; and Jaime Lozano, awarded for music. Each grant carries with it an unrestricted $15,000 prize as well as additional support in the form of residencies, concerts and recording grants.

“We are so delighted to celebrate the talents of these three incredible artists, who have been awarded this year’s Jonathan Larson Grants,” said American Theatre Wing President and CEO Heather Hitchens. “This initiative is so vital to our mission as an arts organization, and our commitment to doing all we can to help remove the barriers talented young artists face when entering a career in the theatre. We’re ecstatic to see the continued development of the brilliant work being created by Christie, Paris and Jaime, through this most essential program.”

This year's recipients were chosen by a panel of judges including producer Amanda DuBois (The Lehman Trilogy, Spring Awakening), general manager and ShowTown Theatricals CEO Nathan Gehan (Parade, Into the Woods), opera composer Kamala Sankaram (Thumbprint, The Last Stand), and composer/lyricist Max Vernon (KPOP; 2015 Larson Grant Recipient).

Previous grant recipients include Grace McLean (In the Green), Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin (The Prom, Elf), Shaina Taub (Suffs), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen, La La Land), Laurence O’Keefe (Legally Blonde: The Musical), Joe Iconis (Be More Chill), Dave Malloy (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Amanda Green (Hands on a Hardbody), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop), and more.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!