Broadway Says Goodbye to Death of a Salesman January 15 | Playbill

Broadway News Broadway Says Goodbye to Death of a Salesman January 15

Wendell Pierce, Sharon D Clarke, and André De Shields star in the production, a transfer from London's West End.

Wendell Pierce and Sharon D Clarke in Death of a Salesman Joan Marcus

Broadway's revival of Death of a Salesman, starring Wendell Pierce and Sharon D Clarke as Willy and Linda Loman, respectively, finishes its Broadway run January 15. The new production of the Arthur Miller classic, a transfer from London's West End, began previews September 17, 2022, and opened October 9.

Both Pierce and Clarke are reprising their performances from the West End run, where Pierce earned an Olivier nomination and Clarke an Olivier win.

Miranda Cromwell directs the work, which follows a traveling salesman and his family who are caught up in the madness of the all-too-often unreachable "American Dream." The play debuted on Broadway in 1949 and won six Tony Awards for its premiere run.

“Looking at Death of a Salesman from the perspective of a Black family living in a predominantly White capitalist world changes the way that you hear this text,” said Cromwell in an earlier statement. “Wendell and Sharon illuminate the heart of this play in a new way that is both universal and entirely specific.”

READ: Wendell Pierce Talks Down Unruly Audience Member at Death of a Salesman

Joining Pierce and Clarke in the cast are Khris Davis as Biff, McKinley Belcher III as Happy, and Tony winner André De Shields as Ben, with Blake DeLong as Howard/Stanley, Lynn Hawley as The Woman/Jenny, Grace Porter as Letta/Jazz Singer, Kevin Ramessar as Musician, Stephen Stocking as Bernard, Chelsea Lee Williams as Miss Forsythe, and Delaney Williams as Charley. Melvin Abston, Jerome Preston Bates, Brandon E. Burton, Maya Jackson, Lisa Strum, Chris Thorn, and Shona Tucker serve as understudies.

The creative team includes Olivier-winning and Tony-nominated scenic and co-costume designer Anna Fleischle, co-costume designer Sarita Fellows, Tony-nominated lighting designer Jen Schriever, Tony-nominated sound designer Mikaal Sulaiman, composer Femi Temowo, hair designer Nikiya Mathis, and music coordinator John Miller. Casting is by Erica A. Hart and Daniel Swee. Charles M. Turner III is production stage manager.

The producing team also includes Cindy Tolan, Elliott & Harper Productions, Kwame Kwei-Armah, Steven Chaikelson, Gavin Kalin, Hunter Arnold, Catherine Schreiber, Bob Boyett, Brian D. Kessler, Michael Watt, Eilene Davidson, Chuchu Nwagu Productions, David Mirvish,Playing Field, Tom Saporito, Triptyk Studios, Iris Smith, LD Entertainment, Salman Al-Rashid, Concord Theatricals, Lamar Richardson, JamRock Productions, Young Vic Young Ones, Jamie deRoy/James L. Simon, TackelRaven/Louise H. Beard, Ferguson Simons/Marjuan Canady, Al Nocciolino/Blumenthal Performing Arts, Phenomenal Media/Meena Harris, and The Young Vic.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!