André De Shields, Jayne Houdyshell, and More Will Be Presenters at 2023 Theater Hall of Fame Ceremony | Playbill

Awards André De Shields, Jayne Houdyshell, and More Will Be Presenters at 2023 Theater Hall of Fame Ceremony

The 52nd anniversary induction ceremony will be held in November at the Gershwin Theatre.

André De Shields at the unveiling of the Lena Horne Theatre Heather Gershonowitz

Presenters have been announced for the 52nd annual Theater Hall of Fame for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater induction ceremony, which will be held November 6 at Broadway's Gershwin Theatre. Five-time Tony winner Susan Stroman will host the evening.

As previously reported, the 2023 inductees include actors Mandy Patinkin (Evita, Sunday in the Park With George), Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago, Sweet Charity), Judd Hirsch (Conversations With My Father, I'm Not Rappaport), and Laurie Metcalf (Three Tall Women; A Doll's House, Part 2; Grey House); director JoAnne Akalaitis (former Public Theater artistic director); librettist John Weidman (Pacific Overtures, Assassins); composer Maury Yeston (Nine, Grand Hotel); and, posthumously, playwright Amiri Baraka (Dutchman, A Black Mass, Home on the Range and Police). (Patinkin will be unable to attend the event due to his forthcoming London concerts.)

Newly announced presenters are actors Jayne Houdyshell and André De Shields, director John Doyle, and producer Rick Elice.

The Theater Hall of Fame was founded in 1970 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, and Gerard Oestreicher. To be eligible for nomination, the theatre professional must have at least 25 years in the American theatre, five major productions, or be a leader of Off-Broadway or a regional theatre pioneer. The more-than-250 voters are past Hall of Fame inductees as well as members of the American Theater Critics Association.

The 2022 inductees included playwrights Lynn Nottage and Suzan-Lori Parks; actors Christine Ebersole and Bill Irwin; director Frank Galati; sound pioneer Abe Jacob; and, posthumously, playwright Ntozake Shange.

Terry Hodge Taylor produces the annual invitation-only event.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!